MdeModulePkg/UefiBootManagerLib: Match the nested partitions
authorGary Lin <glin@suse.com>
Wed, 23 Jan 2019 04:40:04 +0000 (12:40 +0800)
committerRuiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Thu, 31 Jan 2019 04:25:36 +0000 (12:25 +0800)
commit02021d2ea4f64be3f29d4a0d9707a60889f3f71b
tree1ccf0d5659c6af310eb8c86de5d5f17258e8676d
parenta824c7ebde0a431413329049252b8c1d3770de82
MdeModulePkg/UefiBootManagerLib: Match the nested partitions

In some cases, such as MD RAID1 in Linux, the bootloader may be in a
nested EFI system partition partition. For example, sda1 and sdb1 are
combined as md0 and the first partition of md0, md0p1, is an EFI system
partition. Then, the bootloader can be located by the following device
paths:

PCI()/SATA(sda)/Partition(sda1)/Partition(md0p1)/File(bootloader.efi)
PCI()/SATA(sdb)/Partition(sdb1)/Partition(md0p1)/File(bootloader.efi)

To make the boot option more resilient, we may create a boot option with
the short-form device path like "Partition(md0p1)/File(bootloader.efi)".

However, BmMatchPartitionDevicePathNode() only matched the first
partition node and ignored the nested partitions, so the firmware would
refuse to load bootloader.efi since "Partition(md0p1)" doesn't match
either "Partition(sda1)" or "Partition(sda2)".

This commit modifies BmMatchPartitionDevicePathNode() to iterate all
nested partitions so that the above boot option could work.

v2 - Simplify the node matching logic

Cc: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Cc: Star Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
Cc: Jian J Wang <jian.j.wang@intel.com>
Cc: Hao Wu <hao.a.wu@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Gary Lin <glin@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: Ray Ni <ray.ni@intel.com>
MdeModulePkg/Library/UefiBootManagerLib/BmBoot.c