ArmPkg/ArmSoftFloatLib GCC4x: fix build failure
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Fri, 31 May 2019 20:46:30 +0000 (22:46 +0200)
committerArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Sat, 1 Jun 2019 07:57:32 +0000 (09:57 +0200)
commit371e7001e8d5753365f3b6cd05b17e32be62b4f3
tree875881e191cc140d97c8788a4dbc55f13ab580f4
parent8594c2073cdb1065e60f01e9b099918c5e839212
ArmPkg/ArmSoftFloatLib GCC4x: fix build failure

The upstream SoftFloat code that was recently incorporated into
ArmSoftFloatLib uses some parameterization to tweak the inlining
and optimization behavior for different compilers.

The custom platform.h file that sets these parameters is based on
the upstream version for Linux/ARM, but was updated to include the
'always_inline' GCC attribute into the INLINE macro, to ensure that
all definitions that are marked as inline are not only inlined into
their callers, but also to ensure that no version of the function is
ever emitted into the object file.

This works fine on recent GCC and Clang, but the latter part turns
out to break on GCC 4.x, resulting duplicate definition linker errors.
Fortunately, the synticatically more appriopriate 'static inline'
works fine on both the recent and the older compilers, so let's switch
to that instead.

Reviewed-by: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
ArmPkg/Library/ArmSoftFloatLib/platform.h