BaseTools/Trim: Normalize filepaths to fix comparisons on Windows
authorChris Co <Christopher.Co@microsoft.com>
Thu, 28 Jun 2018 19:31:21 +0000 (03:31 +0800)
committerLiming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
Wed, 4 Jul 2018 02:42:32 +0000 (10:42 +0800)
commit5895956dd955714c0e578a413d0e289153cc9eea
tree1466aef405598290939f295ffc60c165a2af44ba
parentcd69c8738391d9ce6c09cf5118c913cc7cd41d8b
BaseTools/Trim: Normalize filepaths to fix comparisons on Windows

When using Linaro GCC5+ arm-eabi toolchain on Windows, the generated
DSDT.iii contains a canonicalized ("\.\" removed and lower case)
filepath for the preprocessed DSDT.i file in the first line.
Trim.exe is called on DSDT.iii to generate DSDT.iiii, which does a
line for line comparison of filepaths encountered to the preprocessed
DSDT.i filepath found in the first line to determine what lines to
place in DSDT.iiii. Since the DSDT.i filepath is canonicalized and
all later filepaths in DSDT.iii are not canonicalized, all comparisons
fail and the result is in an empty DSDT.iiii.

Issue was first reported to Linaro here:
https://bugs.linaro.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2909
where the recommendation was to address the issue in Trim.exe.

This patch normalizes the case and pathname of all filepaths
encountered during Trim.exe execution on preprocessed files.  This
fixes comparisons of filepaths that contain mismatching case on
case-insensitive filesystems, redundant separators, and uplevel
references.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Christopher Co <christopher.co@microsoft.com>
Cc: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
Cc: Yonghong Zhu <yonghong.zhu@intel.com>
Cc: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
BaseTools/Source/Python/Trim/Trim.py