ArmPlatformPkg/NorFlashDxe: use one GUID plus index to identify flash banks
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Wed, 21 Nov 2018 11:58:25 +0000 (12:58 +0100)
committerArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Mon, 26 Nov 2018 16:53:46 +0000 (17:53 +0100)
commit8b9025345e65ccaeacd3fb5dc711f952650ad6a8
treeb832f3c0cd4eb5345084a93b3e31878ade7033df
parent4ef113583978c6a385c82cbbe1ed9cc754a5ffdc
ArmPlatformPkg/NorFlashDxe: use one GUID plus index to identify flash banks

Currently, each flash bank controlled by ArmPlatformPkg/NorFlashDxe
has its own VendorHw GUID, and instances of NorFlashPlatformLib
describe each bank to the driver, along with the GUID for each.

This works ok for bare metal platforms, but it would be useful for
virtual platforms if we could obtain this information from a
device tree, which would require us to invent GUIDs on the fly,
given that the 'cfi-flash' binding does not include a GUID.

So instead, let's switch to a single GUID for all flash banks,
and update the driver's device path handling to include an index
to identify each bank uniquely.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Philippe Mathieu-Daudé <philmd@redhat.com>
Tested-by: Thomas Abraham <thomas.abraham@arm.com>
ArmPlatformPkg/Drivers/NorFlashDxe/NorFlashDxe.c
ArmPlatformPkg/Drivers/NorFlashDxe/NorFlashDxe.h