QuarkPlatformPkg/Tpm12DeviceLibAtmelI2c: Remove PP Check
authorMichael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Tue, 10 Jan 2017 17:02:30 +0000 (09:02 -0800)
committerMichael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Wed, 11 Jan 2017 19:11:19 +0000 (11:11 -0800)
commita0f26e276c71eeb7b2e16e242d4a978652798fb3
tree226a4bc8cfbfa493f98ef67127ec4ffd186fc465
parente044364b82e63047980606c388f4854b7c41e947
QuarkPlatformPkg/Tpm12DeviceLibAtmelI2c: Remove PP Check

https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=337

The Tpm12CommandLib in the SecurityPkg was updated to check
the returnCode in the response packet in the following
commit:

https://github.com/tianocore/edk2/commit/950a3bc788b5b101729b26aed3ff75fd2a64a570

The Tpm12DeviceLibAtmelI2C uses the Tpm12PhysicalPresence()
function from the Tpm12CommandLib to verify that the I2C device
is responding to TPM command packets.  However, at this point
the TPM device has not been started, and the TPM properly
responds with an error in the returnCode field of the response
packet.  Before the commit above, the check worked, but the
additional error checking in the commit above now returns an
error and an Atmel I2C is returned as not present.

The fix is to remove the call to the Tpm12PhysicalPresence()
API in the Tpm12CommandLib from the Tpm12RequestUseTpm() API.
The Atmel I2C TPM device is detected if a byte can be read
from the slave address assigned to the Atmel I2C device.
When the startup command is sent to the TPM later, the
command and response packet processing will be verified, and
if the I2C device is not an Atmel TPM, it will be detected
at that point.

Cc: Kelly Steele <kelly.steele@intel.com>
Cc: Lee Leahy <leroy.p.leahy@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Michael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Lee Leahy <leroy.p.leahy@intel.com>
QuarkPlatformPkg/Library/Tpm12DeviceLibAtmelI2c/TisPc.c
QuarkPlatformPkg/Library/Tpm12DeviceLibAtmelI2c/Tpm12DeviceLibAtmelI2c.inf