MdeModulePkg/UsbBus: Fix system hang when failed to uninstall UsbIo
authorRuiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Thu, 1 Jun 2017 10:27:23 +0000 (18:27 +0800)
committerRuiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Fri, 2 Jun 2017 04:59:27 +0000 (12:59 +0800)
commitb659b503fa7c43677ccab40d311dbab33366ee97
tree9c3155b6f56a205f048115d7caa229fd2be55457
parenta6b5380642c4d9f55175dd5f423bae9ecc1be9d8
MdeModulePkg/UsbBus: Fix system hang when failed to uninstall UsbIo

When "reconnect -r" is typed in shell, UsbFreeInterface() is called
to uninstall the UsbIo and DevicePath. But When a UsbIo is opened
by a driver and that driver rejects to close the UsbIo in Stop(),
the uninstall doesn't succeed.
But UsbFreeInterface () frees the DevicePath memory without check
whether the uninstall succeeds.
It leads to the DXE core database contain a DevicePath instance but
that instance's memory is freed.
Assertion happens when someone calls InstallProtocol(DevicePath)
because the InstallProtocol() checks all DevicePath instance to
find whether the same one exits in database.

We haven't seen any USB device driver which rejects to close UsbIo
in Stop(), but it's very likely.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Feng Tian <feng.tian@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Star Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
Cc: Hao A Wu <hao.a.wu@intel.com>
MdeModulePkg/Bus/Usb/UsbBusDxe/UsbEnumer.c