ArmPlatformPkg: remove EFI_MEMORY_UC attribute from normal memory
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Thu, 8 Sep 2016 08:05:45 +0000 (09:05 +0100)
committerArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Thu, 8 Sep 2016 09:35:33 +0000 (10:35 +0100)
commitd74135cd0f8d00d2126df0b4db54938c96456db6
treedaa05c00b0afaf0e5e54172ebbb5644b2da52857
parentf2509d6d3efbed3cf90c44ace94a331b912b0017
ArmPlatformPkg: remove EFI_MEMORY_UC attribute from normal memory

On ARM systems, mapping normal memory as device memory may have unintended
side effects, given that unaligned accesses or loads and stores with special
semantics (e.g., load/store exclusive) may fault or may not work as expected.
Similarly, DC ZVA instructions are only supported on normal memory, not
device memory.

So remove the EFI_MEMORY_UC attribute that we set by default on system RAM.
If any region requires this attribute, it is up to the driver to set this
attribute, and to ensure that no offending operations are performed on it.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
ArmPlatformPkg/ArmJunoPkg/Library/ArmJunoLib/ArmJunoMem.c
ArmPlatformPkg/ArmVExpressPkg/Library/ArmVExpressLibRTSM/RTSMMem.c
ArmPlatformPkg/MemoryInitPei/MemoryInitPeiLib.c