EmbeddedPkg: add driver to set graphical/serial console preference
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Fri, 20 Oct 2017 13:30:11 +0000 (14:30 +0100)
committerArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Mon, 23 Oct 2017 11:14:00 +0000 (12:14 +0100)
commitd8e36289cef7bde628b023219cd65fa8e8d4562a
treea20e19445910d5bfe5b9b9e14bfb77502ab1fcaf
parent6e3287442774c1a4bc83f127694700eeb07c18dc
EmbeddedPkg: add driver to set graphical/serial console preference

Linux on ARM/arm64 will infer from the presence of a /chosen/stdout-path
DT property or of a SPCR ACPI table that the primary console is the serial
port, even if a graphical console is available as well.

So let's introduce a driver that allows the user to set a preference
between graphical and serial if both are available. If the preference
is set to 'Graphical', and any GOP protocol instances have been installed
by the time the ReadyToBoot event is signalled, remove the DT property
and/or the SPCR table entirely.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
EmbeddedPkg/Drivers/ConsolePrefDxe/ConsolePrefDxe.c [new file with mode: 0644]
EmbeddedPkg/Drivers/ConsolePrefDxe/ConsolePrefDxe.h [new file with mode: 0644]
EmbeddedPkg/Drivers/ConsolePrefDxe/ConsolePrefDxe.inf [new file with mode: 0644]
EmbeddedPkg/Drivers/ConsolePrefDxe/ConsolePrefHii.uni [new file with mode: 0644]
EmbeddedPkg/Drivers/ConsolePrefDxe/ConsolePrefHii.vfr [new file with mode: 0644]
EmbeddedPkg/EmbeddedPkg.dec
EmbeddedPkg/Include/Guid/ConsolePrefFormSet.h [new file with mode: 0644]