ShellPkg: remove superfluous TimerLib resolution
authorLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Mon, 12 Feb 2018 13:03:44 +0000 (14:03 +0100)
committerLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Tue, 13 Feb 2018 12:29:35 +0000 (13:29 +0100)
TimerLib had to be resolved in commit 5ab97a64b51c ("ShellPkg/bcfg: Add
Shell Spec 2.2 modification functionality", 2017-03-01) because:

- the BCFG command started making calls to UefiBootManagerLib
  (EfiBootManagerVariableToLoadOption(),
  EfiBootManagerLoadOptionToVariable(), EfiBootManagerFreeLoadOption()),

- and "MdeModulePkg/Library/UefiBootManagerLib/UefiBootManagerLib.inf"
  depended on TimerLib.

Because TimerLib is platform-specific, but "ShellPkg/ShellPkg.dsc" is
meant to produce a UEFI shell binary that is platform-independent (see
"ShellBinPkg/ReadMe.txt"), we resolved TimerLib to
"BaseTimerLibNullTemplate.inf". (TimerLib functionality was never actually
needed on UefiBootManagerLib code paths that were exercised by the shell /
BCFG.)

Thanks to the last patch, UefiBootManagerLib no longer depends on
TimerLib, thus we can drop the TimerLib resolution entirely.

Cc: Jaben Carsey <jaben.carsey@intel.com>
Cc: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Jaben Carsey <jaben.carsey@intel.com>
ShellPkg/ShellPkg.dsc

index 29f5376..1c923f5 100644 (file)
@@ -58,7 +58,6 @@
 \r
   UefiBootManagerLib|MdeModulePkg/Library/UefiBootManagerLib/UefiBootManagerLib.inf\r
   HobLib|MdePkg/Library/DxeHobLib/DxeHobLib.inf\r
-  TimerLib|MdePkg/Library/BaseTimerLibNullTemplate/BaseTimerLibNullTemplate.inf\r
   PerformanceLib|MdePkg/Library/BasePerformanceLibNull/BasePerformanceLibNull.inf\r
   DxeServicesTableLib|MdePkg/Library/DxeServicesTableLib/DxeServicesTableLib.inf\r
   DxeServicesLib|MdePkg/Library/DxeServicesLib/DxeServicesLib.inf\r