CryptoPkg/OpensslLib: Fix the documentation about submodule update
authorLong Qin <qin.long@intel.com>
Thu, 12 Apr 2018 02:50:30 +0000 (10:50 +0800)
committerLong Qin <qin.long@intel.com>
Sun, 15 Apr 2018 13:07:38 +0000 (21:07 +0800)
This patch is to drop "--remote" option from the original suggested
submodule update command ("$ git submodule update --recursive
--remote") in HOWTO document.

"--remote" option will integrate changes from the upstream subproject
with the submodules's "current HEAD", instead of using the edk2
superproject's "recorded SHA-1".

It is important here for the edk2 consumers to updating the working
tree of the submodules to match the commit / release tag that the
superproject expects. So removing "--remote" option to fix this
documentation issue here.

Cc: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Cc: Ye Ting <ting.ye@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Long Qin <qin.long@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
CryptoPkg/Library/OpensslLib/OpenSSL-HOWTO.txt

index ac63d4c077960271df9c3fe0388d35c9f820f393..36f8e711dda3874dc58746cf648ad78005643df2 100644 (file)
@@ -40,7 +40,7 @@ or
   And use the following combined commands to pull the remote submodule updates\r
 (e.g. Updating the new supported OpenSSL release tag):\r
      $ git pull --recurse-submodules && \\r
-       git submodule update --recursive --remote\r
+       git submodule update --recursive\r
 \r
 =============================================================================\r
                       About process_files.pl\r