MdePkg DevicePathLib: Validate before touch input buffer.
authorEric Dong <eric.dong@intel.com>
Thu, 27 Oct 2016 03:08:37 +0000 (11:08 +0800)
committerStar Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
Wed, 9 Nov 2016 09:49:15 +0000 (17:49 +0800)
Current code not validate the input buffer before touch.
it may touch the buffer outside the validate scope. This
patch validate the input size big enough to touch the
first node.

Cc: Ruiyu NI <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Jiewen Yao <jiewen.yao@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Eric Dong <eric.dong@intel.com>
MdePkg/Library/UefiDevicePathLibDevicePathProtocol/UefiDevicePathLib.c

index a514f1b6f9beff50af0221b3b78b7699a4d66734..2252d186cbf3215c2091254a5862800779cc20c4 100644 (file)
@@ -103,17 +103,33 @@ IsDevicePathValid (
 \r
   ASSERT (DevicePath != NULL);\r
 \r
+  if (MaxSize == 0) {\r
+    MaxSize = MAX_UINTN;\r
+  }\r
+\r
+  //\r
+  // Validate the input size big enough to touch the first node.\r
+  //\r
+  if (MaxSize < sizeof (EFI_DEVICE_PATH_PROTOCOL)) {\r
+    return FALSE;\r
+  }\r
+\r
   for (Count = 0, Size = 0; !IsDevicePathEnd (DevicePath); DevicePath = NextDevicePathNode (DevicePath)) {\r
     NodeLength = DevicePathNodeLength (DevicePath);\r
     if (NodeLength < sizeof (EFI_DEVICE_PATH_PROTOCOL)) {\r
       return FALSE;\r
     }\r
 \r
-    if (MaxSize > 0) {\r
-      Size += NodeLength;\r
-      if (Size + END_DEVICE_PATH_LENGTH > MaxSize) {\r
-        return FALSE;\r
-      }\r
+    if (NodeLength > MAX_UINTN - Size) {\r
+      return FALSE;\r
+    }\r
+    Size += NodeLength;\r
+\r
+    //\r
+    // Validate next node before touch it.\r
+    //\r
+    if (Size > MaxSize - END_DEVICE_PATH_LENGTH ) {\r
+      return FALSE;\r
     }\r
 \r
     if (PcdGet32 (PcdMaximumDevicePathNodeCount) > 0) {\r