pvenode: add WOL section to doc
authorChristian Ebner <c.ebner@proxmox.com>
Mon, 21 Jan 2019 16:57:36 +0000 (17:57 +0100)
committerThomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
Mon, 21 Jan 2019 17:08:38 +0000 (18:08 +0100)
Adds a section containing information about the wake on LAN feature to the
pvenode documentation.

Signed-off-by: Christian Ebner <c.ebner@proxmox.com>
pvenode.adoc

index a41085f..fbc467e 100644 (file)
@@ -50,6 +50,35 @@ systemctl restart pveproxy
 
 Setup ACME account and order a certificate for local node.
 
+Wake-on-LAN
+-----------
+Wake-on-LAN (WoL) allows to switch on a sleeping computer in the network by
+sendig a magic packet. At least one NIC must support this feature and the
+respective option needs to be enabled in the computers firmware (BIOS/UEFI)
+configuration. The option name can vary from 'Enable Wake-on-Lan' to
+'Power On By PCIE Device', check your motherboards vendor manual, if unsure.
+`ethtool` can be used to check the WoL configuration of `<interface>` by
+running:
+
+----
+ethtool <interface> | grep Wake-on
+----
+
+`pvenode` allows to wake sleeping members of a cluster via WoL using the
+command:
+
+----
+pvenode wakeonlan <node>
+----
+
+This broadcasts the WoL magic packet on UDP port 9, containing the MAC address
+of `<node>` obtained from the `wakeonlan` property. The node specific
+`wakeonlan` property can be set by the following command:
+
+----
+pvenode config set -wakeonlan XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
+----
+
 // TODO: extend and improve chapter!
 
 ifdef::manvolnum[]