pct: extend device mount point section
authorFabian Gr├╝nbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
Thu, 22 Sep 2016 06:44:58 +0000 (08:44 +0200)
committerDietmar Maurer <dietmar@proxmox.com>
Thu, 22 Sep 2016 07:37:29 +0000 (09:37 +0200)
pct.adoc

index 14e2d37..a9c90db 100644 (file)
--- a/pct.adoc
+++ b/pct.adoc
@@ -418,8 +418,15 @@ achieve the same result.
 Device mount points
 ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
 
-Similar to bind mounts, device mounts are not managed by the storage, but for
-these the `quota` and `acl` options will be honored.
+Device mount points allow to mount block devices of the host directly into the
+container. Similar to bind mounts, device mounts are not managed by {PVE}'s
+storage subsystem, but the `quota` and `acl` options will be honored.
+
+NOTE: Device mount points should only be used under special circumstances. In
+most cases a storage backed mount point offers the same performance and a lot
+more features.
+
+NOTE: The contents of device mount points are not backed up when using 'vzdump'.
 
 
 FUSE mounts