document ballooning for fixed memory size
authorDominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
Mon, 9 Jan 2017 10:57:44 +0000 (11:57 +0100)
committerDietmar Maurer <dietmar@proxmox.com>
Mon, 9 Jan 2017 11:18:50 +0000 (12:18 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
images/screenshot/gui-create-vm-memory-dynamic.png
images/screenshot/gui-create-vm-memory-fixed.png
qm.adoc

index b912527..951de56 100644 (file)
Binary files a/images/screenshot/gui-create-vm-memory-dynamic.png and b/images/screenshot/gui-create-vm-memory-dynamic.png differ
index 7cff78e..1e5de25 100644 (file)
Binary files a/images/screenshot/gui-create-vm-memory-fixed.png and b/images/screenshot/gui-create-vm-memory-fixed.png differ
diff --git a/qm.adoc b/qm.adoc
index 85b939a..68d7bad 100644 (file)
--- a/qm.adoc
+++ b/qm.adoc
@@ -275,6 +275,17 @@ host.
 When choosing a *fixed size memory* {pve} will simply allocate what you
 specify to your VM.
 
 When choosing a *fixed size memory* {pve} will simply allocate what you
 specify to your VM.
 
+Even when using a fixed memory size, the ballooning device gets added to the
+VM, because it delivers useful information such as how much memory the guest
+really uses.
+In general, you should leave *ballooning* enabled, but if you want to disable
+it (e.g. for debugging porpuses), simply uncheck
+*Ballooning* or set
+
+ balloon: 0
+
+in the configuration.
+
 .Automatic Memory Allocation
 [thumbnail="gui-create-vm-memory-dynamic.png", float="left"]
 
 .Automatic Memory Allocation
 [thumbnail="gui-create-vm-memory-dynamic.png", float="left"]