add paragraph for IO Thread option
authorDominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
Wed, 25 May 2016 13:40:26 +0000 (15:40 +0200)
committerDietmar Maurer <dietmar@proxmox.com>
Wed, 25 May 2016 13:50:00 +0000 (15:50 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
qm.adoc

diff --git a/qm.adoc b/qm.adoc
index ab6d5bd..f6c968a 100644 (file)
--- a/qm.adoc
+++ b/qm.adoc
@@ -162,6 +162,12 @@ when the filesystem of a VM marks blocks as unused after removing files, the
 emulated SCSI controller will relay this information to the storage, which will
 then shrink the disk image accordingly.
 
+The option *IO Thread* can only be enabled when using a disk with the *Virtio* controller,
+or with the *SCSI* controller, when the emulated controller type is *VIRTIO*.
+With this enabled, Qemu uses one thread per disk, instead of one thread for all,
+so it should increase performance when using multiple disks.
+Note that backups do not currently work with *IO Thread* enabled.
+
 Managing Virtual Machines with 'qm'
 ------------------------------------