ZFS RAM usage more precise.
authorWolfgang Link <w.link@proxmox.com>
Mon, 3 Oct 2016 07:28:56 +0000 (09:28 +0200)
committerDietmar Maurer <dietmar@proxmox.com>
Tue, 4 Oct 2016 05:46:36 +0000 (07:46 +0200)
pve-installation.adoc

index 032fd51..cf32851 100644 (file)
@@ -135,8 +135,9 @@ required for lvmthin snapshots).
 ZFS Performance Tips
 ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
 
-ZFS uses a lot of memory, so it is best to add additional 8-16GB RAM
-if you want to use ZFS.
+ZFS uses a lot of memory, so it is best to add additional RAM if you
+want to use ZFS. A good calculation is 4GB plus 1GB RAM for each TB
+RAW disk space.
 
 ZFS also provides the feature to use a fast SSD drive as write cache. The
 write cache is called the ZFS Intent Log (ZIL). You can add that after