pve-docs.git
2 years agobuildsys: don't use rm -r on so many globs
Wolfgang Bumiller [Fri, 3 Feb 2017 12:30:54 +0000 (13:30 +0100)]
buildsys: don't use rm -r on so many globs

2 years agobuildsys: split the packages
Wolfgang Bumiller [Fri, 3 Feb 2017 11:19:30 +0000 (12:19 +0100)]
buildsys: split the packages

This way each package can be built separately. This also
allows for much easier package bootstrapping (eg. for
stretch)

2 years agobuildsys: not our job to handle editor files
Wolfgang Bumiller [Fri, 3 Feb 2017 12:28:11 +0000 (13:28 +0100)]
buildsys: not our job to handle editor files

2 years agobump version to 4.4-3
Fabian Grünbichler [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 10:21:10 +0000 (11:21 +0100)]
bump version to 4.4-3

2 years agoupdate generated docs
Fabian Grünbichler [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 10:25:55 +0000 (11:25 +0100)]
update generated docs

2 years agoadd missing build dependencies
Fabian Grünbichler [Fri, 27 Jan 2017 10:18:46 +0000 (11:18 +0100)]
add missing build dependencies

2 years agoadd status.cfg to the list of files in /etc/pve
Dominik Csapak [Tue, 24 Jan 2017 11:10:45 +0000 (12:10 +0100)]
add status.cfg to the list of files in /etc/pve

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agotrailing whitespace fixes
Dominik Csapak [Tue, 24 Jan 2017 11:10:44 +0000 (12:10 +0100)]
trailing whitespace fixes

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agoremove unecessary symbols at the end of the line
Dominik Csapak [Tue, 24 Jan 2017 11:10:43 +0000 (12:10 +0100)]
remove unecessary symbols at the end of the line

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agosome small spelling/grammar fixes
Dominik Csapak [Tue, 24 Jan 2017 11:10:42 +0000 (12:10 +0100)]
some small spelling/grammar fixes

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agopve-software-stack.svg: adopt colors
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 23 Jan 2017 10:49:04 +0000 (11:49 +0100)]
pve-software-stack.svg: adopt colors

2 years agoadd details about online migration for qemu
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 19 Jan 2017 14:03:22 +0000 (15:03 +0100)]
add details about online migration for qemu

this adds the distinction between online/offline migration for vms,
and explains what happens during an online migration and explains,
what the requirements are

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agoadd links to the specific migration chaptes in pvecm
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 19 Jan 2017 14:03:21 +0000 (15:03 +0100)]
add links to the specific migration chaptes in pvecm

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agosmall grammar and word fixes
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 19 Jan 2017 14:03:20 +0000 (15:03 +0100)]
small grammar and word fixes

s/unless/until/

added a comma to split the sentence

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agopvecm: improve 'RRP on existing clusters' wording
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 11 Jan 2017 09:37:49 +0000 (10:37 +0100)]
pvecm: improve 'RRP on existing clusters' wording

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agopvecm: explain need of storage separation on node separation better
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 11 Jan 2017 09:37:48 +0000 (10:37 +0100)]
pvecm: explain need of storage separation on node separation better

VMID conflict are not the main problem, and some users could think
that they can handle VMID conflict them self and thus do not separate
the storages. Therefore mention the locking over cluster boundary
problem too.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agopvecm: concat code snippets with list paragraph
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 11 Jan 2017 09:37:47 +0000 (10:37 +0100)]
pvecm: concat code snippets with list paragraph

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agoDocument the difference between Virtio SCSI and Virtio SCSI single
Emmanuel Kasper [Wed, 4 Jan 2017 15:51:27 +0000 (16:51 +0100)]
Document the difference between Virtio SCSI and Virtio SCSI single

Also make sure we use the same case in the GuI: VirtIO, and
explain why IO Thread requires a specific controller option.

2 years agoImprove cluster note deletion operation
Emmanuel Kasper [Wed, 4 Jan 2017 15:40:36 +0000 (16:40 +0100)]
Improve cluster note deletion operation

 * do not add `pvecm status` when we talk about `pvecm nodes`
 * do not say twice to login to a cluster member node for the same command set
 * move the big danger warning in the middle of operations, so it might not
 be skipped

2 years agodocument ballooning for fixed memory size
Dominik Csapak [Mon, 9 Jan 2017 10:57:44 +0000 (11:57 +0100)]
document ballooning for fixed memory size

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agopve-gui.adoc: more verbose description
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 5 Jan 2017 10:31:47 +0000 (11:31 +0100)]
pve-gui.adoc: more verbose description

2 years agopve-gui.adoc: minor cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 3 Jan 2017 17:12:32 +0000 (18:12 +0100)]
pve-gui.adoc: minor cleanups

2 years agoadd blockid qm_copy_and_clone
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 3 Jan 2017 11:07:41 +0000 (12:07 +0100)]
add blockid qm_copy_and_clone

2 years agonew screenshot gui-pool-summary-development.png
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 2 Jan 2017 12:33:45 +0000 (13:33 +0100)]
new screenshot gui-pool-summary-development.png

2 years agogui-storage-summary-local.png: add new screenshot
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 2 Jan 2017 11:45:33 +0000 (12:45 +0100)]
gui-storage-summary-local.png: add new screenshot

2 years agoExtent the GUI overview.
Wolfgang Link [Fri, 30 Dec 2016 13:45:22 +0000 (14:45 +0100)]
Extent the GUI overview.

2 years agoAdd Pool level
Wolfgang Link [Fri, 30 Dec 2016 13:45:21 +0000 (14:45 +0100)]
Add Pool level

This section gives a brief overview about the Logical Pools.

2 years agoAdd storage level.
Wolfgang Link [Fri, 30 Dec 2016 13:45:20 +0000 (14:45 +0100)]
Add storage level.

This sub-chapter contains information about the storage GUI.

2 years agoAdd section VM Level.
Wolfgang Link [Fri, 30 Dec 2016 13:45:19 +0000 (14:45 +0100)]
Add section VM Level.

This section gives a brief overview about the VM GUI.

2 years agoqm.adoc: rework clone/template sections
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 30 Dec 2016 11:46:03 +0000 (12:46 +0100)]
qm.adoc: rework clone/template sections

2 years agoqm.adoc: add section about VM clones
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 15:54:58 +0000 (16:54 +0100)]
qm.adoc: add section about VM clones

2 years agoadd new screenshots
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 10:31:29 +0000 (11:31 +0100)]
add new screenshots

2 years agogui-my-settings.png: new screenshot
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 10:14:14 +0000 (11:14 +0100)]
gui-my-settings.png: new screenshot

2 years agogui-qemu-migrate.png: add new screenshot
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 10:02:13 +0000 (11:02 +0100)]
gui-qemu-migrate.png: add new screenshot

2 years agoqm.adoc: change section ordering
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 09:04:47 +0000 (10:04 +0100)]
qm.adoc: change section ordering

2 years agolocal-zfs.adoc: s/a/an/
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 06:52:38 +0000 (07:52 +0100)]
local-zfs.adoc: s/a/an/

2 years agobump version to 4.4-2
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 06:46:38 +0000 (07:46 +0100)]
bump version to 4.4-2

2 years agolocal-lvm.adoc: s/not/note/
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 06:44:46 +0000 (07:44 +0100)]
local-lvm.adoc: s/not/note/

2 years agosmall corrections and clarifications
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 22 Dec 2016 14:33:38 +0000 (15:33 +0100)]
small corrections and clarifications

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agosmall spelling and grammar fixes
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 22 Dec 2016 14:33:37 +0000 (15:33 +0100)]
small spelling and grammar fixes

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agolocal-zfs.adoc: update info about zed daemon
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Dec 2016 15:34:53 +0000 (16:34 +0100)]
local-zfs.adoc: update info about zed daemon

2 years agoenhance descriptions of LVM configuration options
Thomas Lamprecht [Fri, 9 Dec 2016 14:39:36 +0000 (15:39 +0100)]
enhance descriptions of LVM configuration options

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agoautomatically set RELEASE in pve-admin-guide-docinfo.xml
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 9 Dec 2016 15:46:38 +0000 (16:46 +0100)]
automatically set RELEASE in pve-admin-guide-docinfo.xml

2 years agoset RELEASE=4.4, bump version to 4.4-1
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 9 Dec 2016 10:45:48 +0000 (11:45 +0100)]
set RELEASE=4.4, bump version to 4.4-1

2 years agoupdate generated docs
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 9 Dec 2016 10:47:56 +0000 (11:47 +0100)]
update generated docs

2 years agopve-gui.adoc: use level1 headers
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 08:34:29 +0000 (09:34 +0100)]
pve-gui.adoc: use level1 headers

2 years agopve-admin-guide.adoc: include chapter pve-gui.adoc
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 08:30:29 +0000 (09:30 +0100)]
pve-admin-guide.adoc: include chapter pve-gui.adoc

2 years agorenamed: pve-webgui.adoc -> pve-gui.adoc
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 08:30:02 +0000 (09:30 +0100)]
renamed: pve-webgui.adoc -> pve-gui.adoc

2 years agopve-webgui.adoc: use thumbnail instead of image
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 08:23:52 +0000 (09:23 +0100)]
pve-webgui.adoc: use thumbnail instead of image

This render printed images with correct (fit to page width) size.

2 years agoupdate gui overview screenshots
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 08:22:40 +0000 (09:22 +0100)]
update gui overview screenshots

We now use bigger size: 1280x1024

2 years agopve-webgui.adoc: include gui-datacenter-search.png screenshot
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 07:18:38 +0000 (08:18 +0100)]
pve-webgui.adoc: include gui-datacenter-search.png screenshot

2 years agogui-datacenter-search.png: update
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Dec 2016 07:11:42 +0000 (08:11 +0100)]
gui-datacenter-search.png: update

2 years agopve-webgui.adoc: make it a chapter, comment out image links
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Dec 2016 12:25:53 +0000 (13:25 +0100)]
pve-webgui.adoc: make it a chapter, comment out image links

2 years agopve-webgui.adoc: remove old attributes.txt
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Dec 2016 12:17:12 +0000 (13:17 +0100)]
pve-webgui.adoc: remove old attributes.txt

2 years agoAdd node level subchapter
Wolfgang Link [Mon, 10 Oct 2016 11:57:27 +0000 (13:57 +0200)]
Add node level subchapter

2 years agoMake subchapter Datacenter level
Wolfgang Link [Mon, 10 Oct 2016 11:57:26 +0000 (13:57 +0200)]
Make subchapter Datacenter level

2 years agoAdd new section Web GUI
Wolfgang Link [Mon, 10 Oct 2016 11:57:25 +0000 (13:57 +0200)]
Add new section Web GUI

It is a merge from the wiki Central Web-based Management and the pve-install-guide.

2 years agobump version to 4.3-19
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 2 Dec 2016 15:25:52 +0000 (16:25 +0100)]
bump version to 4.3-19

2 years agoadd migration subchapter to qm.adoc
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 16:22:59 +0000 (17:22 +0100)]
add migration subchapter to qm.adoc

explain online and offline migration

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agoadd migration subchapter to pct.adoc
Dominik Csapak [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 16:22:58 +0000 (17:22 +0100)]
add migration subchapter to pct.adoc

explain the offline and restart migration

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
2 years agogenerate README.html including a TOC
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 10:48:28 +0000 (11:48 +0100)]
generate README.html including a TOC

2 years agoAdd a chapter explaining how online help is added to the GUI
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 08:50:53 +0000 (09:50 +0100)]
Add a chapter explaining how online help is added to the GUI

2 years agobump version to 4.3-18
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 09:54:34 +0000 (10:54 +0100)]
bump version to 4.3-18

2 years agoupdate auto-generated docs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 09:57:38 +0000 (10:57 +0100)]
update auto-generated docs

2 years agoremove DRBD9
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 09:51:44 +0000 (10:51 +0100)]
remove DRBD9

2 years agolocal-lvm.adoc: minor cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 1 Dec 2016 09:36:28 +0000 (10:36 +0100)]
local-lvm.adoc: minor cleanups

2 years agoAdd useful examples to create/resize a lvm[-thin] pool.
Wolfgang Link [Wed, 12 Oct 2016 12:23:33 +0000 (14:23 +0200)]
Add useful examples to create/resize a lvm[-thin] pool.

2 years agopvecm/migration: try using better english
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 11:09:57 +0000 (12:09 +0100)]
pvecm/migration: try using better english

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agopct.adoc: include gui-create-ct-general.png screenshot
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 16:41:52 +0000 (17:41 +0100)]
pct.adoc: include gui-create-ct-general.png screenshot

2 years agogui-create-ct-general.png: update screenshot
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 16:39:56 +0000 (17:39 +0100)]
gui-create-ct-general.png: update screenshot

Include new unpriviledged setting.

2 years agoAdd General Settings sub chapter
Emmanuel Kasper [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 14:18:36 +0000 (15:18 +0100)]
Add General Settings sub chapter

We will use this to document the first tab of the Create CT wizard.

Also move the priviledged/unpriviledge explanation here, since
the related checkbox will be placed in this tab.

2 years agopvecm.adoc: minor cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 08:01:32 +0000 (09:01 +0100)]
pvecm.adoc: minor cleanups

2 years agouse backticks for parameter values
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 07:57:42 +0000 (08:57 +0100)]
use backticks for parameter values

2 years agocleanup previous patch: improve grammer
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 30 Nov 2016 07:55:00 +0000 (08:55 +0100)]
cleanup previous patch: improve grammer

2 years agoadd migration settings documentation
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 29 Nov 2016 09:56:05 +0000 (10:56 +0100)]
add migration settings documentation

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agobump version to 4.3-17
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 23 Nov 2016 10:42:09 +0000 (11:42 +0100)]
bump version to 4.3-17

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: new section Management Tasks
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 23 Nov 2016 10:33:40 +0000 (11:33 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: new section Management Tasks

Replaces old 'Service Operations' section.

2 years agoupdate gui-ha-manager-groups-view.png
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 23 Nov 2016 08:22:29 +0000 (09:22 +0100)]
update gui-ha-manager-groups-view.png

2 years agoremove gui-ha-manager-resources-view.png
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 23 Nov 2016 08:16:12 +0000 (09:16 +0100)]
remove gui-ha-manager-resources-view.png

HA status panel includes the resource list.

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add missing service states
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 16:20:50 +0000 (17:20 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add missing service states

2 years agobump version to 4.3-16
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 15:57:17 +0000 (16:57 +0100)]
bump version to 4.3-16

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add empty line before/after verbatim paragraph
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 12:00:33 +0000 (13:00 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add empty line before/after verbatim paragraph

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: use continuation inside list
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 11:56:29 +0000 (12:56 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: use continuation inside list

2 years agoimprove error recovery section
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 11:28:30 +0000 (12:28 +0100)]
improve error recovery section

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agoadapt leftover mentions of enable/disable to new meaning
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 11:28:29 +0000 (12:28 +0100)]
adapt leftover mentions of enable/disable to new meaning

replace 'enable(d)' mentions with started where applicable.
Enhance wording on the touched hunks a little bit.

Replace the Service Operation 'enabled' with the more general 'set
state' and enhance the wording for 'disabled'

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 years agoha-manager.adoc: reorder sections
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 06:45:48 +0000 (07:45 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: reorder sections

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add new section Node Maintenance
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 06:40:01 +0000 (07:40 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add new section Node Maintenance

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: reorder sections
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 22 Nov 2016 05:37:44 +0000 (06:37 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: reorder sections

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add screenshots
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 16:30:28 +0000 (17:30 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add screenshots

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: improve section Recover Fenced Services
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 10:37:50 +0000 (11:37 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: improve section Recover Fenced Services

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: fix section hardware watchdog
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 09:43:03 +0000 (10:43 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: fix section hardware watchdog

information was simply wrong.

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: improve fencing docs
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 09:19:23 +0000 (10:19 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: improve fencing docs

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: cleanup fencing introduction
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 08:55:35 +0000 (09:55 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: cleanup fencing introduction

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: remove unnecessary heading
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 08:30:18 +0000 (09:30 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: remove unnecessary heading

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: move section 'Service States' to 'How it Works'
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 06:54:08 +0000 (07:54 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: move section 'Service States' to 'How it Works'

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: move group examples to group configuration section
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 21 Nov 2016 06:03:38 +0000 (07:03 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: move group examples to group configuration section

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add cli example
Dietmar Maurer [Sun, 20 Nov 2016 15:23:02 +0000 (16:23 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add cli example

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add title to configuration example
Dietmar Maurer [Sun, 20 Nov 2016 14:40:46 +0000 (15:40 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add title to configuration example

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: add example resource config.
Dietmar Maurer [Sun, 20 Nov 2016 14:34:32 +0000 (15:34 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: add example resource config.

2 years agoha-manager.adoc: remove obsolete text
Dietmar Maurer [Sun, 20 Nov 2016 14:23:32 +0000 (15:23 +0100)]
ha-manager.adoc: remove obsolete text