proxmox-ve.git
6 weeks agobump version to 6.0-2 master
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 10 Jul 2019 18:22:18 +0000 (20:22 +0200)]
bump version to 6.0-2

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
6 weeks agomake d/rules executable
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 10 Jul 2019 18:22:13 +0000 (20:22 +0200)]
make d/rules executable

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
6 weeks agoadd dependency on pve-kernel-helper
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 10 Jul 2019 15:04:59 +0000 (17:04 +0200)]
add dependency on pve-kernel-helper

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
6 weeks agoremove efiboot
Stoiko Ivanov [Wed, 10 Jul 2019 15:04:58 +0000 (17:04 +0200)]
remove efiboot

it got moved along with the new pveesptool to pve-kernel-meta

8 weeks agobump version to 6.0-1
Thomas Lamprecht [Fri, 28 Jun 2019 10:33:50 +0000 (12:33 +0200)]
bump version to 6.0-1

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
8 weeks agod/postinst: drop old release key fixups
Thomas Lamprecht [Fri, 28 Jun 2019 09:20:41 +0000 (11:20 +0200)]
d/postinst: drop old release key fixups

They where for Proxmox VE 5 based on Stretch

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
8 weeks agofixup: whitespace and chmod changes
Thomas Lamprecht [Fri, 28 Jun 2019 09:19:08 +0000 (11:19 +0200)]
fixup: whitespace and chmod changes

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
8 weeks agoadd efiboot and autoremoval kernel postinst hooks
Stoiko Ivanov [Thu, 27 Jun 2019 18:27:57 +0000 (20:27 +0200)]
add efiboot and autoremoval kernel postinst hooks

In order to add support for booting with ZFS on Root on EFI systems this
patch uses systemd-boot as boot loader.

The rationale for not using grub is that there have been quite a few problems
observed with grub and ZFS, e.g. certain RAID-controllers only having a 32bit
implementation in grub, but ZFS writing the kernelimage or initrd after 2TB
rendering a system unbootable.

Additionally grub only supports a certain subset of zpool features, which
either forces users to not use newer features, or to create an additional small
boot-pool, with the reduced feature set (which seems currently the suggestion
from ZFS-upstream [0,1]).

the kernel-hook scripts are adapted from debian's versions for:
* marking kernels as NeverAutoRemove (/etc/kernel/postinst.d/apt-auto-removal)
* calling update-grub (/etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-update-grub)
* generating systemd-boot loader entries
  (/usr/lib/kernel/install.d/90-loaderentry.install)

the list of kernels kept installed and configured for booting with systemd-boot
contains:
* the currently running kernel
* the kernel being installed
* the 2 newest kernels (determined by package-name, i.e. ABI-version)
* the latest kernel from each series (e.g. 4.13, 4.15, 5.0) by keeping the
  respective meta-packages installed

the implementation diverges from systemd's boot loader specification [0] in the
following places:
* adding support for multiple ESPs - all bootable disks of a RAID get configured
  with an 512M ESP - the hookscript installs the kernels to all of them
* the ESP(s) are not kept mounted, rather they get mounted and umounted by
  the script:
  * Should the system crash, this should make sure that the ESPs fs does not get
    corrupted
  * Keeping it mounted results in a boot-error, if the ESP, which is usually
    mounted is not available (because the disk died)
* kernels and initrds get installed into 'EFI/proxmox/$kver' instead
  of '$machineid/$kver'

Since copying the necessary kernels needs a logic for cleaning up space in
the ESP, this presents an opportunity to also be more selective about which
kernels are marked as NeverAutoRemove, instead of keeping all versions installed
which results in full disks for our users occasionally.

[0] https://github.com/zfsonlinux/zfs/wiki/Ubuntu-18.04-Root-on-ZFS
[1] https://zfsonlinux.topicbox.com/groups/zfs-discuss/Tfe475cd19433f050
[2] https://systemd.io/BOOT_LOADER_SPECIFICATION

8 weeks agoapthook: detect upgrades from PVE 6.x to 7.0
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 26 Jun 2019 12:00:42 +0000 (14:00 +0200)]
apthook: detect upgrades from PVE 6.x to 7.0

and refer to the upgrade documentation.

Add this now already to ensure _all_ users have it when the time for
7.0 comes in some years...

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 months agobump version to 6.0-0+2
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 28 May 2019 09:49:55 +0000 (11:49 +0200)]
bump version to 6.0-0+2

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
2 months agod/control: pve-headers needs to depend on pve-headers-5.0 now
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 28 May 2019 09:48:33 +0000 (11:48 +0200)]
d/control: pve-headers needs to depend on pve-headers-5.0 now

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 months agobuildsys: switch upload dist over to buster
Thomas Lamprecht [Thu, 23 May 2019 16:18:00 +0000 (18:18 +0200)]
buildsys: switch upload dist over to buster

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 months agobump version to 6.0-0+1
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 22 May 2019 19:48:51 +0000 (21:48 +0200)]
bump version to 6.0-0+1

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 months agoremove dependency on essential libc
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 22 May 2019 19:48:16 +0000 (21:48 +0200)]
remove dependency on essential libc

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 months agodepdent on pve-kernel-5.0
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 22 May 2019 19:47:55 +0000 (21:47 +0200)]
depdent on pve-kernel-5.0

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 months agooverride package-installs-apt-keyring lintian errors
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 22 May 2019 19:45:11 +0000 (21:45 +0200)]
override package-installs-apt-keyring lintian errors

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 months agobuildsys: use dpkg-dev makefile helpers for pkg info
Thomas Lamprecht [Wed, 22 May 2019 19:42:31 +0000 (21:42 +0200)]
buildsys: use dpkg-dev makefile helpers for pkg info

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
4 months agobump version to 5.4-1
Thomas Lamprecht [Thu, 4 Apr 2019 15:40:18 +0000 (17:40 +0200)]
bump version to 5.4-1

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
7 months agoRemoved double wording in apthook message
Alwin Antreich [Wed, 9 Jan 2019 12:37:19 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
Removed double wording in apthook message

Signed-off-by: Alwin Antreich <a.antreich@proxmox.com>
7 months agoAdd a purge proxmox-ve to the warning message
Alwin Antreich [Wed, 9 Jan 2019 12:37:18 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
Add a purge proxmox-ve to the warning message

When the package proxmox-ve is not purged the apt config is still there
and hinders further use of apt, as it complains about the missing hook.

Signed-off-by: Alwin Antreich <a.antreich@proxmox.com>
7 months agochange wording in apthook
Alwin Antreich [Wed, 9 Jan 2019 12:37:17 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
change wording in apthook

this patch removes the wording for the apt-get invocation in favour of
only using apt.

Signed-off-by: Alwin Antreich <a.antreich@proxmox.com>
8 months agobump version to 5.3-1
Thomas Lamprecht [Fri, 23 Nov 2018 13:12:22 +0000 (14:12 +0100)]
bump version to 5.3-1

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
9 months agoadd missing file
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 10:04:43 +0000 (11:04 +0100)]
add missing file

9 months agobump version to 5.2-3
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 09:58:31 +0000 (10:58 +0100)]
bump version to 5.2-3

9 months agoadd proxmox-ve-release-6.x.gpg
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Nov 2018 09:56:34 +0000 (10:56 +0100)]
add proxmox-ve-release-6.x.gpg

15 months agobump version to 5.2-2
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 16 May 2018 05:59:59 +0000 (07:59 +0200)]
bump version to 5.2-2

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
15 months agoswitch default kernel/initrd symlink to 4.15
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 16 May 2018 05:59:00 +0000 (07:59 +0200)]
switch default kernel/initrd symlink to 4.15

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
15 months agobump version to 5.2-1
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 9 May 2018 09:54:55 +0000 (11:54 +0200)]
bump version to 5.2-1

15 months agobump version to 5.1-43
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 09:01:34 +0000 (11:01 +0200)]
bump version to 5.1-43

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
15 months agowrap-and-sort
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 09:01:33 +0000 (11:01 +0200)]
wrap-and-sort

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
15 months agore-add pve-headers meta-package
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 09:01:32 +0000 (11:01 +0200)]
re-add pve-headers meta-package

to depend on pve-headers-4.15, which depends on the actual
pve-headers-4.15.x-y-pve package.

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
15 months agoswitch to 4.15 series as default kernel
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 30 Apr 2018 09:01:31 +0000 (11:01 +0200)]
switch to 4.15 series as default kernel

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
16 months agoadd APT hook to prevent proxmox-ve removal
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 3 Apr 2018 07:18:08 +0000 (09:18 +0200)]
add APT hook to prevent proxmox-ve removal

since this happens quite regularly when users accidentally install
conflicting packages.

sample output:
$ apt remove pve-qemu-kvm
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  libxml-libxml-perl proxmox-widget-toolkit pve-edk2-firmware pve-i18n pve-xtermjs
Use 'apt autoremove' to remove them.
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  proxmox-ve pve-container pve-ha-manager pve-ha-manager-dbgsym pve-manager pve-qemu-kvm qemu-server spiceterm
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 8 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
After this operation, 37.6 MB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
W: (pve-apt-hook) !! WARNING !!
W: (pve-apt-hook) You are attempting to remove the meta-package 'proxmox-ve'!
W: (pve-apt-hook)
W: (pve-apt-hook) If you really you want to permanently remove 'proxmox-ve' from your system, run the following command
W: (pve-apt-hook)       touch '/please-remove-proxmox-ve'
W: (pve-apt-hook) and repeat your apt-get/apt invocation.
W: (pve-apt-hook)
W: (pve-apt-hook) If you are unsure why 'proxmox-ve' would be removed, please verify
W: (pve-apt-hook)       - your APT repository settings
W: (pve-apt-hook)       - that you are using 'apt-get dist-upgrade' or 'apt full-upgrade' to upgrade your system
E: Sub-process /usr/share/proxmox-ve/pve-apt-hook returned an error code (1)
E: Failure running script /usr/share/proxmox-ve/pve-apt-hook

Signed-off-by: Fabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
17 months agodebian/postinst: cleanup
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 5 Mar 2018 14:24:34 +0000 (15:24 +0100)]
debian/postinst: cleanup

17 months agobump version to 5.1-42
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 5 Mar 2018 13:41:14 +0000 (14:41 +0100)]
bump version to 5.1-42

17 months agosplit out pve-kernel-4.13
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 5 Mar 2018 12:53:37 +0000 (13:53 +0100)]
split out pve-kernel-4.13

and switch build to dpkg-buildpackage

17 months agoinitial import from pve-kernel.git
Fabian Grünbichler [Mon, 5 Mar 2018 12:37:32 +0000 (13:37 +0100)]
initial import from pve-kernel.git

with reduced Makefile