IntelFrameworkPkg/LegacyBios.h: Add a macro to guarantee page 0 access
authorJian J Wang <jian.j.wang@intel.com>
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 07:57:38 +0000 (15:57 +0800)
committerStar Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
Fri, 8 Dec 2017 06:38:44 +0000 (14:38 +0800)
commit7619eed8aa260c9527d72ccd525ce70060b64f1f
treeacf708e4852686ac1de7657d4a9f3ee835b88f56
parent2b55daaef0f3f53059c5c858ca6fd53b03eb5d4c
IntelFrameworkPkg/LegacyBios.h: Add a macro to guarantee page 0 access

Due to the introduction of NULL pointer detection feature, page 0 will be
disabled if the feature is enabled, which will cause legacy code failed to
update legacy data in page 0. This macro is introduced to make sure the
page 0 is enabled before those code and restore the original status of it
afterwards.

Another reason to introduce this macro is to eliminate the dependency on
the PcdNullPointerDetectionPropertyMask. Because this is a new PCD, it
could cause some backward compatibility issue for some old packages.

This macro will simply check if the page 0 is disabled or not. If it's
disabled, it will enable it before code updating page 0 and disable it
afterwards. Otherwise, this macro will do nothing to page 0.

The usage of the macro will be look like (similar to DEBUG_CODE macro):

    ACCESS_PAGE0_CODE(
      <code accessing page 0>
    );

Cc: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
Cc: Michael D Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Cc: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Jian J Wang <jian.j.wang@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
IntelFrameworkPkg/Include/Protocol/LegacyBios.h