OvmfPkg/Virtio10Dxe: don't bind virtio-vga
authorLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Thu, 18 Aug 2016 11:52:26 +0000 (13:52 +0200)
committerLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Thu, 1 Sep 2016 20:54:47 +0000 (22:54 +0200)
commit76569ca855916d528fa7abd034e880e114d6d5cd
tree489383f0a21cc2e5078b658c0aacb0256baad28c
parent442c2ab81e87766f49a0f5656f39512bf1908028
OvmfPkg/Virtio10Dxe: don't bind virtio-vga

Commit 9399f68ae359 ("OvmfPkg: Virtio10Dxe: non-transitional driver for
virtio-1.0 PCI devices") created a "competition" between Virtio10Dxe and
QemuVideoDxe for virtio-vga devices. The binding order between these
drivers is unspecified, and the wrong order effectively breaks commit
94210dc95e9f ("OvmfPkg: QemuVideoDxe: add virtio-vga support").

Thus, never bind virtio-vga in Virtio10Dxe; QemuVideoDxe provides better
compatibility for guest OSes that insist on inheriting a linear
framebuffer. Users who prefer the VirtIo GPU interface at boot time should
specify virtio-gpu-pci, which is exactly virtio-vga, minus the VGA
compatibility (such as the framebuffer).

Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
Ref: https://tianocore.acgmultimedia.com/show_bug.cgi?id=66
Fixes: 9399f68ae359234b142c293ad1bef75f470ced30
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
OvmfPkg/Virtio10Dxe/Virtio10.c