OvmfPkg/QemuVideoDxe: Bypass NULL pointer detection during VBE SHIM installing
authorJian J Wang <jian.j.wang@intel.com>
Mon, 9 Oct 2017 14:02:27 +0000 (22:02 +0800)
committerEric Dong <eric.dong@intel.com>
Wed, 11 Oct 2017 08:39:02 +0000 (16:39 +0800)
commit90f3922b018e08594ae6746252984495d3bb8c74
treea3d3eb480a2fac18ddf61521de75600f806ec9e7
parentd057d8c4e90af4f96778a028f31f5fcaa1f51434
OvmfPkg/QemuVideoDxe: Bypass NULL pointer detection during VBE SHIM installing

QemuVideoDxe driver will link VBE SHIM into page 0. If NULL pointer
detection is enabled, this driver will fail to load. NULL pointer detection
bypassing code is added to prevent such problem during boot.

Please note that Windows 7 will try to access VBE SHIM during boot if it's
installed, and then cause boot failure. This can be fixed by setting BIT7
of PcdNullPointerDetectionPropertyMask to disable NULL pointer detection
after EndOfDxe. As far as we know, there's no other OSs has such issue.

Cc: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Cc: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
Cc: Jiewen Yao <jiewen.yao@intel.com>
Cc: Michael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Cc: Ayellet Wolman <ayellet.wolman@intel.com>
Suggested-by: Ayellet Wolman <ayellet.wolman@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Jian J Wang <jian.j.wang@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
OvmfPkg/QemuVideoDxe/QemuVideoDxe.inf
OvmfPkg/QemuVideoDxe/VbeShim.c