Network : veth pair : fix mtu
authorAlexandre Derumier <aderumier@odiso.com>
Wed, 21 Nov 2018 16:34:29 +0000 (17:34 +0100)
committerWolfgang Bumiller <w.bumiller@proxmox.com>
Thu, 22 Nov 2018 09:27:41 +0000 (10:27 +0100)
commitd6a2cdcb762b37833dcebf91d4842018b956a63f
treed448ac076abe66d1e59168018cf008f32ac0c494
parent0a3de87e0f68078652ca3293c1bd1cc377c27f9d
Network : veth pair : fix mtu

The ip link set command which create the veth pair is not setting mtu on both peers

example:
vm 106 is on a bridge with mtu 9000

222: tap160i1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,PROMISC,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc pfifo_fast master fwbr160i1 state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
223: fwbr160i1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
224: fwpr160p1@fwln160i1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
225: fwln160i1@fwpr160p1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000

fwpr160p1@fwln160i1 is correctly created with mtu 9000
but
fwln160i1@fwpr160p1 is created with mtu 1500.
(and then vmbr106i1 is lowered to 1500 too).

This is doing network problem, as tap160i1 is mtu9000.

After this patch:

222: tap160i1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,PROMISC,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc pfifo_fast master fwbr160i1 state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
223: fwbr160i1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
224: fwpr160p1@fwln160i1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
225: fwln160i1@fwpr160p1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 9000 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
src/PVE/Network.pm