Revert "OvmfPkg/PlatformPei: fix MTRR for low-RAM sizes that have many bits clear"
authorLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Wed, 29 May 2019 09:49:07 +0000 (11:49 +0200)
committerLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Mon, 3 Jun 2019 17:53:31 +0000 (19:53 +0200)
commit305cd4f783fe522230677677d17ae7adc85ebc4b
tree2ef19dfafbf925295aae4b154ee4e14adeb01bb9
parentf03859ea6c8fddeaa3a5cc3d9a3461728ce538aa
Revert "OvmfPkg/PlatformPei: fix MTRR for low-RAM sizes that have many bits clear"

This reverts commit 39b9a5ffe6618b7870be2a54fe7725000249c33a.

The original fix for <https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1814>
triggered a bug / incorrect assumption in QEMU.

QEMU assumes that the PCIEXBAR is below the 32-bit PCI window, not above
it. When the firmware doesn't satisfy this assumption, QEMU generates an
\_SB.PCI0._CRS object in the ACPI DSDT that does not reflect the
firmware's 32-bit MMIO BAR assignments. This causes OSes to re-assign
32-bit MMIO BARs.

Working around the problem in the firmware looks less problematic than
fixing QEMU. Revert the original changes first, before implementing an
alternative fix.

Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
Cc: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
Ref: https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1859
Signed-off-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Philippe Mathieu-Daude <philmd@redhat.com>
OvmfPkg/PlatformPei/MemDetect.c
OvmfPkg/PlatformPei/Platform.c
OvmfPkg/PlatformPei/Platform.h