ArmVirtPkg/QemuVirtMemInfoLib: remove 1:1 mapping of top of PA range
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Tue, 27 Nov 2018 14:25:42 +0000 (15:25 +0100)
committerArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Thu, 29 Nov 2018 17:52:54 +0000 (18:52 +0100)
commit364eed8479a34274de4b1f7d61ce65c7571ff55c
tree76b6e35f6d98a46100a30a47d84ec71cf6336ff7
parent66e06a72bf582ddb62b63127701607a8da6c2278
ArmVirtPkg/QemuVirtMemInfoLib: remove 1:1 mapping of top of PA range

Currently, we map DRAM as EFI_MEMORY_WB, and the remainder of the
entire virtual address space is mapped with EFI_MEMORY_UC attributes,
regardless of whether any devices actually reside there.

Now that we are relaxing the address space limit to more than 40 bits,
mapping all that address space actually takes up more space in page
tables than we have so far made available as temporary RAM. So let's
get rid of the mapping rather than increasing the available RAM, given
that the mapping is not particularly useful anyway.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Philippe Mathieu-Daudé <philmd@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
ArmVirtPkg/Library/QemuVirtMemInfoLib/AArch64/PhysAddrTop.S [deleted file]
ArmVirtPkg/Library/QemuVirtMemInfoLib/Arm/PhysAddrTop.S [deleted file]
ArmVirtPkg/Library/QemuVirtMemInfoLib/QemuVirtMemInfoLib.c
ArmVirtPkg/Library/QemuVirtMemInfoLib/QemuVirtMemInfoLib.inf
ArmVirtPkg/Library/QemuVirtMemInfoLib/QemuVirtMemInfoPeiLib.inf