MdeModulePkg/FileExplorerLib: avoid packed struct for program data
authorArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Sat, 8 Dec 2018 10:24:31 +0000 (11:24 +0100)
committerArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Tue, 11 Dec 2018 12:14:28 +0000 (13:14 +0100)
commit765fb87c2b7085780983df0c1a13e0d2f951b798
treed2e79f32d38a8887f75cdf9f111f11fed9069963
parentf0574a194c1ef85ca94d4ea776d3b517ad5ac0ce
MdeModulePkg/FileExplorerLib: avoid packed struct for program data

Struct packing is only necessary for data structures whose in-memory
representation is covered by the PI or UEFI specs, and may deviate
from the ordinary C rules for alignment.

So in case of FileExplorerLib, this applies to the device path struct
only, and other structures used to carry program data should not be
packed, or we may end up with alignment faults on architectures such
as ARM, which don't permit load/store double or multiple instructions
to access memory locations that are not 32-bit aligned.

E.g., the following call in FileExplorerLibConstructor()

  InitializeListHead (&gFileExplorerPrivate.FsOptionMenu->Head);

which is emitted as follows for 32-bit ARM/Thumb2 by Clang-5.0

    3de0:       b510            push    {r4, lr}
    3de2:       4604            mov     r4, r0
    ...
    3de8:       e9c4 4400       strd    r4, r4, [r4]
    3dec:       bd10            pop     {r4, pc}

will perform a double-word store on the first argument, passed in
register r0, assuming that the pointer type of the argument is
enough to guarantee that the value is suitably aligned.

Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Hao Wu <hao.a.wu@intel.com>
MdeModulePkg/Library/FileExplorerLib/FileExplorer.h