MdeModulePkg/LogoDxe: Return error if HII Package not present
authorMichael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Thu, 18 May 2017 04:02:36 +0000 (21:02 -0700)
committerMichael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Mon, 22 May 2017 23:30:11 +0000 (16:30 -0700)
https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=554

Update LogoDxe module to print a DEBUG() message and exit
with an error instead of ASSERT_EFI_ERROR() if the HII
Image Package with the logo image is not present.

If a tool chain does not support generation of PE/COFF
resource sections, then this module can not produce the logo
from an HII Image Package.  XCODE5 is an example of a tool
chain that does not currently support generation of PE/COFF
resource sections.

Cc: Star Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
Cc: Eric Dong <eric.dong@intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Fish <afish@apple.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Michael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Star Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
MdeModulePkg/Logo/Logo.c

index 313dd4a..1789ad9 100644 (file)
@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 /** @file\r
   Logo DXE Driver, install Edkii Platform Logo protocol.\r
 \r
-Copyright (c) 2016, Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.<BR>\r
+Copyright (c) 2016 - 2017, Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.<BR>\r
 This program and the accompanying materials\r
 are licensed and made available under the terms and conditions of the BSD License\r
 which accompanies this distribution.  The full text of the license may be found at\r
@@ -133,7 +133,10 @@ InitializeLogo (
                   NULL,\r
                   EFI_OPEN_PROTOCOL_GET_PROTOCOL\r
                   );\r
-  ASSERT_EFI_ERROR (Status);\r
+  if (EFI_ERROR (Status)) {\r
+    DEBUG ((DEBUG_ERROR, "HII Image Package with logo not found in PE/COFF resource section\n"));\r
+    return Status;\r
+  }\r
 \r
   //\r
   // Publish HII package list to HII Database.\r