MdePkg/Include: Add enumeration size checks to Base.h
authorMichael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Thu, 18 Aug 2016 06:41:20 +0000 (23:41 -0700)
committerMichael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Fri, 28 Oct 2016 05:22:57 +0000 (22:22 -0700)
https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=181

Add size check for 8-bit, 16-bit, and 32-bit enums
to make sure they follow the UEFI Specification 2.3.1
Data Types.

<Enumerated Type>

Element of a standard ANSI C enum type declaration.
Type INT32.or UINT32.  ANSI C does not define the
size of sign of an enum so they should never be
used in structures. ANSI C integer promotion rules
make INT32 or UINT32 interchangeable when passed as
an argument to a function.

Cc: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.0
Signed-off-by: Michael Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
MdePkg/Include/Base.h

index 82a773a..2217058 100644 (file)
@@ -63,6 +63,22 @@ VERIFY_SIZE_OF (UINT64, 8);
 VERIFY_SIZE_OF (CHAR8, 1);\r
 VERIFY_SIZE_OF (CHAR16, 2);\r
 \r
 VERIFY_SIZE_OF (CHAR8, 1);\r
 VERIFY_SIZE_OF (CHAR16, 2);\r
 \r
+typedef enum {\r
+  __VerifyUint8EnumValue = 0xff\r
+} __VERIFY_UINT8_ENUM_SIZE;\r
+\r
+typedef enum {\r
+  __VerifyUint16EnumValue = 0xffff\r
+} __VERIFY_UINT16_ENUM_SIZE;\r
+\r
+typedef enum {\r
+  __VerifyUint32EnumValue = 0xffffffff\r
+} __VERIFY_UINT32_ENUM_SIZE;\r
+\r
+VERIFY_SIZE_OF (__VERIFY_UINT8_ENUM_SIZE, 4);\r
+VERIFY_SIZE_OF (__VERIFY_UINT16_ENUM_SIZE, 4);\r
+VERIFY_SIZE_OF (__VERIFY_UINT32_ENUM_SIZE, 4);\r
+\r
 //\r
 // The Microsoft* C compiler can removed references to unreferenced data items\r
 //  if the /OPT:REF linker option is used. We defined a macro as this is a\r
 //\r
 // The Microsoft* C compiler can removed references to unreferenced data items\r
 //  if the /OPT:REF linker option is used. We defined a macro as this is a\r