Added PVE::Network::tcp_ping to replace Net::Ping
authorWolfgang Bumiller <w.bumiller@proxmox.com>
Wed, 26 Aug 2015 08:38:27 +0000 (10:38 +0200)
committerDietmar Maurer <dietmar@proxmox.com>
Fri, 28 Aug 2015 08:55:17 +0000 (10:55 +0200)
We use Net::Ping twice in pve-storage (once for ISCSIPlugin
and once in GlusterfsPlugin, both with the 'tcp' variant.),
but Net::Ping doesn't support IPv6.

src/PVE/Network.pm

index ff4a89c..60afe50 100644 (file)
@@ -6,6 +6,8 @@ use PVE::Tools qw(run_command);
 use PVE::ProcFSTools;
 use PVE::INotify;
 use File::Basename;
+use IO::Socket::IP;
+use POSIX qw(ECONNREFUSED);
 
 # host network related utility functions
 
@@ -437,4 +439,32 @@ sub activate_bridge_vlan {
     return $bridgevlan;
 }
 
+sub tcp_ping {
+    my ($host, $port, $timeout) = @_;
+
+    my $refused = 1;
+
+    $timeout = 3 if !$timeout; # sane default
+    if (!$port) {
+       # Net::Ping defaults to the echo port
+       $port = 7;
+    } else {
+       # Net::Ping's port_number() implies service_check(1)
+       $refused = 0;
+    }
+
+    my ($sock, $result);
+    eval {
+       $result = PVE::Tools::run_with_timeout($timeout, sub {
+           $sock = IO::Socket::IP->new(PeerHost => $host, PeerPort => $port, Type => SOCK_STREAM);
+           $result = $refused if $! == ECONNREFUSED;
+       });
+    };
+    if ($sock) {
+       $sock->close();
+       $result = 1;
+    }
+    return $result;
+}
+
 1;