efi boot: add note about update-initramfs hooks
authorStefan Reiter <s.reiter@proxmox.com>
Tue, 6 Aug 2019 14:05:00 +0000 (16:05 +0200)
committerFabian Grünbichler <f.gruenbichler@proxmox.com>
Wed, 7 Aug 2019 06:23:54 +0000 (08:23 +0200)
and fix "edit kernel command line" to include actual refresh command

Signed-off-by: Stefan Reiter <s.reiter@proxmox.com>
qm-pci-passthrough.adoc
system-booting.adoc

index d9b842a..c1bca7c 100644 (file)
@@ -82,9 +82,6 @@ After changing anything modules related, you need to refresh your
 # update-initramfs -u -k all
 ----
 
-If you are using `systemd-boot` make sure to
-xref:sysboot_systemd_boot_refresh[sync the new initramfs to the bootable partitions].
-
 .Finish Configuration
 
 Finally reboot to bring the changes into effect and check that it is indeed
index fefc963..8400a26 100644 (file)
@@ -191,7 +191,10 @@ To copy and configure all bootable kernels and keep all ESPs listed in
 (The equivalent to running `update-grub` on Systems being booted with `grub`).
 
 This is necessary should you make changes to the kernel commandline, or want to
-sync all kernels and initrds after regenerating the latter.
+sync all kernels and initrds.
+
+NOTE: Both `update-initramfs` and `apt` (when necessary) will automatically
+trigger a refresh.
 
 [[sysboot_edit_kernel_cmdline]]
 Editing the kernel commandline
@@ -209,6 +212,6 @@ The kernel commandline needs to be placed in the variable
 
 .Systemd-boot
 
-The kernel commandline needs to be placed as line in `/etc/kernel/cmdline`
-Running `/etc/kernel/postinst.d/zz-pve-efiboot` sets it as `option` line for
-all config files in `loader/entries/proxmox-*.conf`.
+The kernel commandline needs to be placed as one line in `/etc/kernel/cmdline`.
+To apply your changes, run `pve-efiboot-tool·refresh`, which sets it as the
+`option` line for all config files in `loader/entries/proxmox-*.conf`.