config: NIC macaddr: enforce unicast MAC addresses
authorStoiko Ivanov <s.ivanov@proxmox.com>
Tue, 12 Mar 2019 15:07:45 +0000 (16:07 +0100)
committerThomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
Thu, 14 Mar 2019 08:21:24 +0000 (09:21 +0100)
creating a VM with a NIC with multicast mac (see [1]) is possible, but setting
the interface's link up inside the guest fails (tested on Debian stable).
The issue was noted with LXC first (see [0,2]) and then tested with Qemu.

This patch uses the 'mac-addr' standard_option defined in PVE::JSONSchema to
ensure only unicast MAC addresses are used for netconfig.

[0] https://lists.linuxcontainers.org/pipermail/lxc-users/2010-August/000783.html
[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAC_address
[2] https://pve.proxmox.com/pipermail/pve-devel/2019-March/035996.html

Signed-off-by: Stoiko Ivanov <s.ivanov@proxmox.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
PVE/QemuServer.pm

index ed950fc..deac8e2 100644 (file)
@@ -802,13 +802,9 @@ The DHCP server assign addresses to the guest starting from 10.0.2.15.
 __EOD__
 
 my $net_fmt = {
-    macaddr => {
-       type => 'string',
-       pattern => qr/[0-9a-f]{2}(?::[0-9a-f]{2}){5}/i,
+    macaddr  => get_standard_option('mac-addr', {
        description => "MAC address. That address must be unique withing your network. This is automatically generated if not specified.",
-       format_description => "XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX",
-       optional => 1,
-    },
+    }),
     model => {
        type => 'string',
        description => "Network Card Model. The 'virtio' model provides the best performance with very low CPU overhead. If your guest does not support this driver, it is usually best to use 'e1000'.",