BaseTools/Capsule: Update file header with tool limitations
authorKinney, Michael D <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Sat, 28 Jul 2018 07:32:34 +0000 (00:32 -0700)
committerKinney, Michael D <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Thu, 2 Aug 2018 21:35:27 +0000 (14:35 -0700)
Update file header to state that the tool does not support:
* Multiple payloads
* Drivers
* Vendor code bytes

https://bugzilla.tianocore.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1031

Cc: Sean Brogan <sean.brogan@microsoft.com>
Cc: Jiewen Yao <jiewen.yao@intel.com>
Cc: Yonghong Zhu <yonghong.zhu@intel.com>
Cc: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
Contributed-under: TianoCore Contribution Agreement 1.1
Signed-off-by: Michael D Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Yonghong Zhu <yonghong.zhu@intel.com>
BaseTools/Source/Python/Capsule/GenerateCapsule.py

index 76426dc..d829000 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,17 @@
 ## @file\r
 # Generate a capsule.\r
 #\r
+# This tool generates a UEFI Capsule around an FMP Capsule.  The capsule payload\r
+# be signed using signtool or OpenSSL and if it is signed the signed content\r
+# includes an FMP Payload Header.\r
+#\r
+# This tool is intended to be used to generate UEFI Capsules to update the\r
+# system firmware or device firmware for integrated devices.  In order to\r
+# keep the tool as simple as possible, it has the following limitations:\r
+#   * Do not support multiple payloads in a capsule.\r
+#   * Do not support optional drivers in a capsule.\r
+#   * Do not support vendor code bytes in a capsule.\r
+#\r
 # Copyright (c) 2018, Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.<BR>\r
 # This program and the accompanying materials\r
 # are licensed and made available under the terms and conditions of the BSD License\r