pve-docs.git
5 years agofix spacing in dblatex title page
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 4 Oct 2016 04:21:25 +0000 (06:21 +0200)]
fix spacing in dblatex title page

5 years agobump version to 4.3-3
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 3 Oct 2016 15:54:02 +0000 (17:54 +0200)]
bump version to 4.3-3

5 years agoadd missing wiki link to Storage:_ZFS_over_iSCSI
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 3 Oct 2016 15:49:30 +0000 (17:49 +0200)]
add missing wiki link to Storage:_ZFS_over_iSCSI

Besides, we should move that article ito the reference docs.

5 years agofix vertical spacing in dblatex title page
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 1 Oct 2016 15:18:24 +0000 (17:18 +0200)]
fix vertical spacing in dblatex title page

5 years agosimplify dblatex title page
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 1 Oct 2016 15:00:25 +0000 (17:00 +0200)]
simplify dblatex title page

5 years agorename temp file logo.pdf to proxmox-logo.pdf
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 1 Oct 2016 14:23:12 +0000 (16:23 +0200)]
rename temp file logo.pdf to proxmox-logo.pdf

5 years agocleanup: remove test target
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 1 Oct 2016 14:20:44 +0000 (16:20 +0200)]
cleanup: remove test target

5 years agoimprove cover page
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 1 Oct 2016 11:22:13 +0000 (13:22 +0200)]
improve cover page

5 years agoadd logo to admin guide and index
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 1 Oct 2016 10:13:10 +0000 (12:13 +0200)]
add logo to admin guide and index

This only work with html based backends, so I defined an extra
attribute 'pvelogo' to enable that.

5 years agodo not use macros in manual page titles
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 30 Sep 2016 10:23:28 +0000 (12:23 +0200)]
do not use macros in manual page titles

5 years agouse custom dblatex style (add logo to pdf)
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 30 Sep 2016 09:50:57 +0000 (11:50 +0200)]
use custom dblatex style (add logo to pdf)

5 years agoupdate proxmox-logo.svg
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 30 Sep 2016 09:39:24 +0000 (11:39 +0200)]
update proxmox-logo.svg

5 years agowhite space cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 11:16:54 +0000 (13:16 +0200)]
white space cleanups

5 years agofix maxvz description
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 11:14:24 +0000 (13:14 +0200)]
fix maxvz description

We do not mount the data volume anymore.

5 years agoimprove text about basic configuration options
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 11:06:47 +0000 (13:06 +0200)]
improve text about basic configuration options

As suggested by Fritz.

5 years agofix typo
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 11:03:44 +0000 (13:03 +0200)]
fix typo

5 years agofix wrong comma
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 11:02:47 +0000 (13:02 +0200)]
fix wrong comma

5 years agoremove web interface section
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 10:53:19 +0000 (12:53 +0200)]
remove web interface section

We already have same content some paragraphs above ...

5 years agobump version to 4.3-2
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 10:24:58 +0000 (12:24 +0200)]
bump version to 4.3-2

5 years agoupdate autogenerated docs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 10:18:57 +0000 (12:18 +0200)]
update autogenerated docs

5 years agofix typo
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 09:08:43 +0000 (11:08 +0200)]
fix typo

5 years agoha-manager.adoc: fix grammar
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 09:04:52 +0000 (11:04 +0200)]
ha-manager.adoc: fix grammar

5 years agoha-manager.adoc: simplify language, provide command line example
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 09:00:00 +0000 (11:00 +0200)]
ha-manager.adoc: simplify language, provide command line example

5 years agoha-manager.adoc: quote node names (cleanup)
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 08:43:37 +0000 (10:43 +0200)]
ha-manager.adoc: quote node names (cleanup)

5 years agoha-manager: add examples to group settings
Thomas Lamprecht [Thu, 29 Sep 2016 07:51:46 +0000 (09:51 +0200)]
ha-manager: add examples to group settings

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
5 years agoadd wiki link to Installation: Tips and Tricks
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 28 Sep 2016 10:26:48 +0000 (12:26 +0200)]
add wiki link to Installation: Tips and Tricks

5 years agopve-installation.adoc: reorder, cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 28 Sep 2016 09:58:49 +0000 (11:58 +0200)]
pve-installation.adoc: reorder, cleanups

5 years agofix typo
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 09:36:52 +0000 (11:36 +0200)]
fix typo

5 years agocleanup: avoid double markups
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 09:19:13 +0000 (11:19 +0200)]
cleanup: avoid double markups

5 years agouse pve macro more often
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:58 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
use pve macro more often

5 years agopct: cleanup Technology Overview list
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:57 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
pct: cleanup Technology Overview list

use * instead of -
remove cgmanager (not used anymore)
capitalization

5 years agouse listings for file contents
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:56 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
use listings for file contents

5 years agovarious minor cleanups
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:55 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
various minor cleanups

5 years agomove pct chapter in index
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:54 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
move pct chapter in index

5 years agoha-manager: fix copy-paste error
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:53 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
ha-manager: fix copy-paste error

5 years agoha-manager: use labeled list
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:52 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
ha-manager: use labeled list

5 years agospelling/grammar/capitalization
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:51 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
spelling/grammar/capitalization

especially:
- filesystem -> file system
- mountpoint -> mount point
- lxc -> LXC
- pve -> PVE
- it's -> its (where appropriate)
- VM´s -> VMs (and similar)
- Ressource -> Resource
- maximal -> maximum or at most
- format of section headers and block headers

5 years agoformatting cleanup
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 27 Sep 2016 08:58:50 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
formatting cleanup

reformat most existing 'text' as either `text` or ``text''
reformat most existing "text" as either ``text'' or `text`
reformat 'x' as `x`
harmonize bullet list syntax to use '*' instead of '-'

5 years agoreadme: fix typos
Fabian Grünbichler [Fri, 23 Sep 2016 11:58:45 +0000 (13:58 +0200)]
readme: fix typos

5 years agobump version to 4.3-1
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 23 Sep 2016 07:42:50 +0000 (09:42 +0200)]
bump version to 4.3-1

5 years agofix spelling errors, add target to create README.html
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 23 Sep 2016 07:28:14 +0000 (09:28 +0200)]
fix spelling errors, add target to create README.html

5 years agoAdd style guide to README
Fabian Grünbichler [Thu, 22 Sep 2016 09:08:41 +0000 (11:08 +0200)]
Add style guide to README

5 years agofix sentence
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 22 Sep 2016 07:41:19 +0000 (09:41 +0200)]
fix sentence

5 years agopct: extend device mount point section
Fabian Grünbichler [Thu, 22 Sep 2016 06:44:58 +0000 (08:44 +0200)]
pct: extend device mount point section

5 years agopct: merge wiki content about bind mounts
Fabian Grünbichler [Thu, 22 Sep 2016 06:44:57 +0000 (08:44 +0200)]
pct: merge wiki content about bind mounts

and add some more notes

5 years agoreorder docs (pct after qm)
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 10:35:41 +0000 (12:35 +0200)]
reorder docs (pct after qm)

5 years agocleanup: use subsection instead of generic header
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 10:33:56 +0000 (12:33 +0200)]
cleanup: use subsection instead of generic header

5 years agopct: include information about pct restore
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 08:33:12 +0000 (10:33 +0200)]
pct: include information about pct restore

5 years agopct: move backup and restore section
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 08:33:11 +0000 (10:33 +0200)]
pct: move backup and restore section

5 years agopct: restructure mount point section
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 08:33:10 +0000 (10:33 +0200)]
pct: restructure mount point section

5 years agopve-package-repos.adoc: add section about SecureApt
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 20 Sep 2016 10:23:35 +0000 (12:23 +0200)]
pve-package-repos.adoc: add section about SecureApt

5 years agopct.adoc: mention vzdump
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Sep 2016 10:33:02 +0000 (12:33 +0200)]
pct.adoc: mention vzdump

5 years agopve-package-repos: add more info about outdated repositories
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Sep 2016 09:45:58 +0000 (11:45 +0200)]
pve-package-repos: add more info about outdated repositories

5 years agopve-package-repos.adoc: add wiki about old 3.x repositories
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Sep 2016 09:22:35 +0000 (11:22 +0200)]
pve-package-repos.adoc: add wiki about old 3.x repositories

5 years agobump version to 4.2-11
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:58:26 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-11

5 years agoremove detailed numbers, because it is difficult to keep them up to data
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:56:35 +0000 (10:56 +0200)]
remove detailed numbers, because it is difficult to keep them up to data

5 years agoalso update 'Get support' page
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:51:03 +0000 (10:51 +0200)]
also update 'Get support' page

5 years agoadd hint about bug tracker
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:19:18 +0000 (10:19 +0200)]
add hint about bug tracker

5 years agobump version to 4.2-10
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 06:30:30 +0000 (08:30 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-10

5 years agoDocument that virtio-scsi is the recommended controller for PVE >= 4.3
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 15 Sep 2016 08:07:44 +0000 (10:07 +0200)]
Document that virtio-scsi is the recommended controller for PVE >= 4.3

5 years agoadd section about bios and uefi
Dominik Csapak [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 13:34:54 +0000 (15:34 +0200)]
add section about bios and uefi

this section explains what is the default and why,
and explains when you need ovmf and why you need an efidisk

also we explain how you can create an efidisk and that you
have to set the resolution in the ovmf menu

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
5 years agolocal-lvm.adoc: move Hardware into separate subsection, add info about bootloader
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 10:11:28 +0000 (12:11 +0200)]
local-lvm.adoc: move Hardware into separate subsection, add info about bootloader

5 years agoadd hint about HW RAID
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 09:39:59 +0000 (11:39 +0200)]
add hint about HW RAID

5 years agorefer to Mastering Proxmox - Second Edition
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 09:11:06 +0000 (11:11 +0200)]
refer to Mastering Proxmox - Second Edition

5 years agoadd new book from Lee R. Surber
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 09:08:37 +0000 (11:08 +0200)]
add new book from Lee R. Surber

5 years agoFix PVE API URL
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 12:46:23 +0000 (14:46 +0200)]
Fix PVE API URL

5 years agouse correct leveloffset for sysadmin pages
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 15:24:03 +0000 (17:24 +0200)]
use correct leveloffset for sysadmin pages

5 years agoinclude/improve new LVM page
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 10:18:27 +0000 (12:18 +0200)]
include/improve new LVM page

5 years agoadd hint about ZFS default ARC size
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 08:49:56 +0000 (10:49 +0200)]
add hint about ZFS default ARC size

5 years agouse/install separate wiki pages for sysadmin.adoc includes
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 08:42:02 +0000 (10:42 +0200)]
use/install separate wiki pages for sysadmin.adoc includes

5 years agopve-network.adoc: move network docu into separate file
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 07:50:41 +0000 (09:50 +0200)]
pve-network.adoc: move network docu into separate file

5 years agoinclude attributes.txt
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 07:44:51 +0000 (09:44 +0200)]
include attributes.txt

5 years agogetting-help.adoc: add/merge infos from current 'Get Support' wiki page
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 07:39:59 +0000 (09:39 +0200)]
getting-help.adoc: add/merge infos from current 'Get Support' wiki page

5 years agopvecm: describe new coldstart behaviour
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 9 Sep 2016 09:58:45 +0000 (11:58 +0200)]
pvecm: describe new coldstart behaviour

5 years agostart doc about lvm ...
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 14:46:10 +0000 (16:46 +0200)]
start doc about lvm ...

5 years agoEscape curly brackets inside single quotes (')
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 09:51:46 +0000 (11:51 +0200)]
Escape curly brackets inside single quotes (')

text in backquotes (`) is not subject to asciidoc expansion but
text inside single quotes (') is

this behaviour led that '{vmid}' was somehow interpreted by asciidoc,
and the whole line was not not rendered

pveum.adoc was the only file with that problem as curly brackets
are inside backticks in the rest of the documentation

5 years agoimprove lxc/pct faqs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 08:49:39 +0000 (10:49 +0200)]
improve lxc/pct faqs

5 years agoFix "rock-it" containers typo
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 07:24:36 +0000 (09:24 +0200)]
Fix "rock-it" containers typo

5 years agoExplain how PVE containers use LXC in the FAQ.
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 07:24:35 +0000 (09:24 +0200)]
Explain how PVE containers use LXC in the FAQ.

5 years agoadd ZFS management docs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 07:24:50 +0000 (09:24 +0200)]
add ZFS management docs

partly imported from current wiki page.

5 years agofix continuations
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 7 Sep 2016 07:56:51 +0000 (09:56 +0200)]
fix continuations

5 years agoMerge the best of the Linux Container wiki article
Emmanuel Kasper [Tue, 6 Sep 2016 13:50:47 +0000 (15:50 +0200)]
Merge the best of the Linux Container wiki article

Adding to FAQ as the pct documentation itself is not the best fit for
this entry.

5 years agobump version to 4.2-9
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Sep 2016 04:42:15 +0000 (06:42 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-9

5 years agorevert live backup note, white space cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Sep 2016 04:24:13 +0000 (06:24 +0200)]
revert live backup note, white space cleanups

5 years agorewrite backup mode explaination for qemu
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 13:06:12 +0000 (15:06 +0200)]
rewrite backup mode explaination for qemu

 * try to stress the data consistency implications before going to the
 technical implementation
 * reoderder chapter levels to be consistent with the rest of the page

5 years agomerge the good parts of the Backup wiki articke
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 13:06:11 +0000 (15:06 +0200)]
merge the good parts of the Backup wiki articke

http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Backup_and_Restore had some good
stuff missing from the reference documentation, so integrate this part
in the reference documentation

5 years agoupdate apidata.js (add missing descriptions)
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 08:24:26 +0000 (10:24 +0200)]
update apidata.js (add missing descriptions)

5 years agoapi-viewer/PVEAPI.js: fix syntax error
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 08:07:41 +0000 (10:07 +0200)]
api-viewer/PVEAPI.js: fix syntax error

5 years agoapi-viewer: use verbose_description if available
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 07:42:35 +0000 (09:42 +0200)]
api-viewer: use verbose_description if available

5 years agoupdate apidata.js - include typetext property for strings.
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 07:31:55 +0000 (09:31 +0200)]
update apidata.js - include typetext property for strings.

5 years agoiapi-viewer: correctly encode type text
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 07:03:35 +0000 (09:03 +0200)]
iapi-viewer: correctly encode type text

5 years agoset the first tab of a page active
Dominik Csapak [Fri, 2 Sep 2016 10:50:38 +0000 (12:50 +0200)]
set the first tab of a page active

else no tab would be selected by default,
but the first would still be shown,
leading to confusion which tab is active

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
5 years agonew faq: How long will my Proxmox VE version be supported?
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 15:29:31 +0000 (17:29 +0200)]
new faq: How long will my Proxmox VE version be supported?

5 years agoadd section about quorum and cluster cold start
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 10:51:17 +0000 (12:51 +0200)]
add section about quorum and cluster cold start

5 years agoadd note about unique cluster names
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 08:09:53 +0000 (10:09 +0200)]
add note about unique cluster names

5 years agoadd missing space
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 08:00:31 +0000 (10:00 +0200)]
add missing space

5 years agobump version to 4.2-8
Wolfgang Bumiller [Fri, 19 Aug 2016 12:55:03 +0000 (14:55 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-8

5 years agofix wiki links
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 12 Aug 2016 08:51:16 +0000 (10:51 +0200)]
fix wiki links

5 years agoupdate for our new mediawiki installation
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 11 Aug 2016 10:41:14 +0000 (12:41 +0200)]
update for our new mediawiki installation

5 years agoimprove docs about default storage configuration
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 9 Aug 2016 07:14:04 +0000 (09:14 +0200)]
improve docs about default storage configuration