pve-docs.git
3 years agopct: move backup and restore section
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 08:33:11 +0000 (10:33 +0200)]
pct: move backup and restore section

3 years agopct: restructure mount point section
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 21 Sep 2016 08:33:10 +0000 (10:33 +0200)]
pct: restructure mount point section

3 years agopve-package-repos.adoc: add section about SecureApt
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 20 Sep 2016 10:23:35 +0000 (12:23 +0200)]
pve-package-repos.adoc: add section about SecureApt

3 years agopct.adoc: mention vzdump
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Sep 2016 10:33:02 +0000 (12:33 +0200)]
pct.adoc: mention vzdump

3 years agopve-package-repos: add more info about outdated repositories
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Sep 2016 09:45:58 +0000 (11:45 +0200)]
pve-package-repos: add more info about outdated repositories

3 years agopve-package-repos.adoc: add wiki about old 3.x repositories
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 19 Sep 2016 09:22:35 +0000 (11:22 +0200)]
pve-package-repos.adoc: add wiki about old 3.x repositories

3 years agobump version to 4.2-11
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:58:26 +0000 (10:58 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-11

3 years agoremove detailed numbers, because it is difficult to keep them up to data
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:56:35 +0000 (10:56 +0200)]
remove detailed numbers, because it is difficult to keep them up to data

3 years agoalso update 'Get support' page
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:51:03 +0000 (10:51 +0200)]
also update 'Get support' page

3 years agoadd hint about bug tracker
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 08:19:18 +0000 (10:19 +0200)]
add hint about bug tracker

3 years agobump version to 4.2-10
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 16 Sep 2016 06:30:30 +0000 (08:30 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-10

3 years agoDocument that virtio-scsi is the recommended controller for PVE >= 4.3
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 15 Sep 2016 08:07:44 +0000 (10:07 +0200)]
Document that virtio-scsi is the recommended controller for PVE >= 4.3

3 years agoadd section about bios and uefi
Dominik Csapak [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 13:34:54 +0000 (15:34 +0200)]
add section about bios and uefi

this section explains what is the default and why,
and explains when you need ovmf and why you need an efidisk

also we explain how you can create an efidisk and that you
have to set the resolution in the ovmf menu

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
3 years agolocal-lvm.adoc: move Hardware into separate subsection, add info about bootloader
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 10:11:28 +0000 (12:11 +0200)]
local-lvm.adoc: move Hardware into separate subsection, add info about bootloader

3 years agoadd hint about HW RAID
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 09:39:59 +0000 (11:39 +0200)]
add hint about HW RAID

3 years agorefer to Mastering Proxmox - Second Edition
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 09:11:06 +0000 (11:11 +0200)]
refer to Mastering Proxmox - Second Edition

3 years agoadd new book from Lee R. Surber
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 09:08:37 +0000 (11:08 +0200)]
add new book from Lee R. Surber

3 years agoFix PVE API URL
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 12:46:23 +0000 (14:46 +0200)]
Fix PVE API URL

3 years agouse correct leveloffset for sysadmin pages
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 15:24:03 +0000 (17:24 +0200)]
use correct leveloffset for sysadmin pages

3 years agoinclude/improve new LVM page
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 10:18:27 +0000 (12:18 +0200)]
include/improve new LVM page

3 years agoadd hint about ZFS default ARC size
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 08:49:56 +0000 (10:49 +0200)]
add hint about ZFS default ARC size

3 years agouse/install separate wiki pages for sysadmin.adoc includes
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 08:42:02 +0000 (10:42 +0200)]
use/install separate wiki pages for sysadmin.adoc includes

3 years agopve-network.adoc: move network docu into separate file
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 07:50:41 +0000 (09:50 +0200)]
pve-network.adoc: move network docu into separate file

3 years agoinclude attributes.txt
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 07:44:51 +0000 (09:44 +0200)]
include attributes.txt

3 years agogetting-help.adoc: add/merge infos from current 'Get Support' wiki page
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 12 Sep 2016 07:39:59 +0000 (09:39 +0200)]
getting-help.adoc: add/merge infos from current 'Get Support' wiki page

3 years agopvecm: describe new coldstart behaviour
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 9 Sep 2016 09:58:45 +0000 (11:58 +0200)]
pvecm: describe new coldstart behaviour

3 years agostart doc about lvm ...
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 14:46:10 +0000 (16:46 +0200)]
start doc about lvm ...

3 years agoEscape curly brackets inside single quotes (')
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 09:51:46 +0000 (11:51 +0200)]
Escape curly brackets inside single quotes (')

text in backquotes (`) is not subject to asciidoc expansion but
text inside single quotes (') is

this behaviour led that '{vmid}' was somehow interpreted by asciidoc,
and the whole line was not not rendered

pveum.adoc was the only file with that problem as curly brackets
are inside backticks in the rest of the documentation

3 years agoimprove lxc/pct faqs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 08:49:39 +0000 (10:49 +0200)]
improve lxc/pct faqs

3 years agoFix "rock-it" containers typo
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 07:24:36 +0000 (09:24 +0200)]
Fix "rock-it" containers typo

3 years agoExplain how PVE containers use LXC in the FAQ.
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 07:24:35 +0000 (09:24 +0200)]
Explain how PVE containers use LXC in the FAQ.

3 years agoadd ZFS management docs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 8 Sep 2016 07:24:50 +0000 (09:24 +0200)]
add ZFS management docs

partly imported from current wiki page.

3 years agofix continuations
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 7 Sep 2016 07:56:51 +0000 (09:56 +0200)]
fix continuations

3 years agoMerge the best of the Linux Container wiki article
Emmanuel Kasper [Tue, 6 Sep 2016 13:50:47 +0000 (15:50 +0200)]
Merge the best of the Linux Container wiki article

Adding to FAQ as the pct documentation itself is not the best fit for
this entry.

3 years agobump version to 4.2-9
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Sep 2016 04:42:15 +0000 (06:42 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-9

3 years agorevert live backup note, white space cleanups
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 6 Sep 2016 04:24:13 +0000 (06:24 +0200)]
revert live backup note, white space cleanups

3 years agorewrite backup mode explaination for qemu
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 13:06:12 +0000 (15:06 +0200)]
rewrite backup mode explaination for qemu

 * try to stress the data consistency implications before going to the
 technical implementation
 * reoderder chapter levels to be consistent with the rest of the page

3 years agomerge the good parts of the Backup wiki articke
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 13:06:11 +0000 (15:06 +0200)]
merge the good parts of the Backup wiki articke

http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Backup_and_Restore had some good
stuff missing from the reference documentation, so integrate this part
in the reference documentation

3 years agoupdate apidata.js (add missing descriptions)
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 08:24:26 +0000 (10:24 +0200)]
update apidata.js (add missing descriptions)

3 years agoapi-viewer/PVEAPI.js: fix syntax error
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 08:07:41 +0000 (10:07 +0200)]
api-viewer/PVEAPI.js: fix syntax error

3 years agoapi-viewer: use verbose_description if available
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 07:42:35 +0000 (09:42 +0200)]
api-viewer: use verbose_description if available

3 years agoupdate apidata.js - include typetext property for strings.
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 07:31:55 +0000 (09:31 +0200)]
update apidata.js - include typetext property for strings.

3 years agoiapi-viewer: correctly encode type text
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 5 Sep 2016 07:03:35 +0000 (09:03 +0200)]
iapi-viewer: correctly encode type text

3 years agoset the first tab of a page active
Dominik Csapak [Fri, 2 Sep 2016 10:50:38 +0000 (12:50 +0200)]
set the first tab of a page active

else no tab would be selected by default,
but the first would still be shown,
leading to confusion which tab is active

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
3 years agonew faq: How long will my Proxmox VE version be supported?
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 15:29:31 +0000 (17:29 +0200)]
new faq: How long will my Proxmox VE version be supported?

3 years agoadd section about quorum and cluster cold start
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 10:51:17 +0000 (12:51 +0200)]
add section about quorum and cluster cold start

3 years agoadd note about unique cluster names
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 08:09:53 +0000 (10:09 +0200)]
add note about unique cluster names

3 years agoadd missing space
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 22 Aug 2016 08:00:31 +0000 (10:00 +0200)]
add missing space

3 years agobump version to 4.2-8
Wolfgang Bumiller [Fri, 19 Aug 2016 12:55:03 +0000 (14:55 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-8

3 years agofix wiki links
Dietmar Maurer [Fri, 12 Aug 2016 08:51:16 +0000 (10:51 +0200)]
fix wiki links

3 years agoupdate for our new mediawiki installation
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 11 Aug 2016 10:41:14 +0000 (12:41 +0200)]
update for our new mediawiki installation

3 years agoimprove docs about default storage configuration
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 9 Aug 2016 07:14:04 +0000 (09:14 +0200)]
improve docs about default storage configuration

3 years agoadd warning about over-provisioning
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 9 Aug 2016 06:52:01 +0000 (08:52 +0200)]
add warning about over-provisioning

3 years agoupdate mediawiki README
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 9 Aug 2016 06:17:07 +0000 (08:17 +0200)]
update mediawiki README

3 years agouse new repoman for upload target
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 9 Aug 2016 06:08:59 +0000 (08:08 +0200)]
use new repoman for upload target

3 years agoadd new pve-docs-mediawiki package
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 9 Aug 2016 05:52:59 +0000 (07:52 +0200)]
add new pve-docs-mediawiki package

3 years agoallow other archs than amd64
Thomas Lamprecht [Fri, 5 Aug 2016 10:34:02 +0000 (12:34 +0200)]
allow other archs than amd64

else lintian does not find the correct package to check if build
on a foreign architecture

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 years agodocument /etc/gentoo-release test
Wolfgang Bumiller [Fri, 20 May 2016 09:12:43 +0000 (11:12 +0200)]
document /etc/gentoo-release test

3 years agobuild-deps: dblatex, source-highlight
Wolfgang Bumiller [Tue, 28 Jun 2016 13:08:35 +0000 (15:08 +0200)]
build-deps: dblatex, source-highlight

3 years agoha-manager: add section for recovery after fencing
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 14:57:45 +0000 (16:57 +0200)]
ha-manager: add section for recovery after fencing

Describe how and why nodes get selected on a recovery of a fenced
service

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 years agoha-manager: clarify start failure policy
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 15:36:50 +0000 (17:36 +0200)]
ha-manager: clarify start failure policy

Rename to 'start failure policy' as else it may be confused with
recovery after fencing, also derscribe its intend.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 years agoha-manager: clarifications and various fixes
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 14:57:43 +0000 (16:57 +0200)]
ha-manager: clarifications and various fixes

Explain that nodes in groups may have priorities and fix also some
spelling and clarifications.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 years agofix #1022 correct typo
Wolfgang Link [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 07:39:35 +0000 (09:39 +0200)]
fix #1022 correct typo

3 years agobump version to 4.2-7
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 09:58:21 +0000 (11:58 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-7

3 years agoMove Multiqueue and IO Threads description at bottom of each chapter
Emmanuel Kasper [Tue, 14 Jun 2016 08:08:46 +0000 (10:08 +0200)]
Move Multiqueue and IO Threads description at bottom of each chapter

Also rename Multiqueues to Multiqueue, to match upstream description

3 years agoDocument network input panel
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 9 Jun 2016 11:26:44 +0000 (13:26 +0200)]
Document network input panel

3 years agoFix case after the updates in the GUI
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 9 Jun 2016 11:26:43 +0000 (13:26 +0200)]
Fix case after the updates in the GUI

3 years agoDocument the Shares option in Memory panel
Emmanuel Kasper [Thu, 9 Jun 2016 11:26:42 +0000 (13:26 +0200)]
Document the Shares option in Memory panel

3 years agoadd section about usb passthrough
Dominik Csapak [Wed, 8 Jun 2016 13:25:28 +0000 (15:25 +0200)]
add section about usb passthrough

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
3 years agobump version to 4.2-6
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 8 Jun 2016 10:37:10 +0000 (12:37 +0200)]
bump version to 4.2-6

3 years agodoc: update stdexcludes
Fabian Grünbichler [Wed, 8 Jun 2016 08:02:36 +0000 (10:02 +0200)]
doc: update stdexcludes

3 years agoadd note about skipped bind/dev mps
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 7 Jun 2016 09:11:22 +0000 (11:11 +0200)]
add note about skipped bind/dev mps

3 years agoadd bind mount warning
Fabian Grünbichler [Tue, 7 Jun 2016 09:11:20 +0000 (11:11 +0200)]
add bind mount warning

3 years agoDocument CPU and Memory Input panel
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 6 Jun 2016 10:23:18 +0000 (12:23 +0200)]
Document CPU and Memory Input panel

3 years agoAdd note explaining what is KVM
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 6 Jun 2016 10:23:17 +0000 (12:23 +0200)]
Add note explaining what is KVM

3 years agoremove trailing whitespaces
Dominik Csapak [Wed, 25 May 2016 13:40:27 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
remove trailing whitespaces

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
3 years agoadd paragraph for IO Thread option
Dominik Csapak [Wed, 25 May 2016 13:40:26 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
add paragraph for IO Thread option

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
3 years agoremove wrong words
Dominik Csapak [Wed, 25 May 2016 13:40:25 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
remove wrong words

Signed-off-by: Dominik Csapak <d.csapak@proxmox.com>
3 years agocorrectly remove temporary xml files
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 25 May 2016 05:35:25 +0000 (07:35 +0200)]
correctly remove temporary xml files

3 years agosimplify package build system (single debian dir)
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 25 May 2016 05:24:28 +0000 (07:24 +0200)]
simplify package build system (single debian dir)

3 years agocleanup pve-docs package - only include documentation files
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 25 May 2016 05:01:19 +0000 (07:01 +0200)]
cleanup pve-docs package - only include documentation files

apache2 and mediawiki setup files should go into a separate package.

3 years agoimprove package description
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 25 May 2016 04:42:17 +0000 (06:42 +0200)]
improve package description

3 years agoinclude footnotes inside manual pages
Dietmar Maurer [Tue, 24 May 2016 09:22:56 +0000 (11:22 +0200)]
include footnotes inside manual pages

We need to use xmlto

3 years agoadd general introduction and chapters matching the qm creation wizard in the GUI
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 23 May 2016 09:41:28 +0000 (11:41 +0200)]
add general introduction and chapters matching the qm creation wizard in the GUI

3 years agoReformat qm documentation to make it similar to pct
Emmanuel Kasper [Mon, 23 May 2016 09:41:15 +0000 (11:41 +0200)]
Reformat qm documentation to make it similar to pct

3 years agoupdate generated docs
Dietmar Maurer [Mon, 23 May 2016 10:29:28 +0000 (12:29 +0200)]
update generated docs

3 years agobump package versions
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 19 May 2016 15:33:00 +0000 (17:33 +0200)]
bump package versions

3 years agofix man page dependencies
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 19 May 2016 15:30:41 +0000 (17:30 +0200)]
fix man page dependencies

3 years agoadd configuration options to manual pages
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 19 May 2016 14:36:13 +0000 (16:36 +0200)]
add configuration options to manual pages

3 years agoupdate auto-generated docs
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 19 May 2016 14:14:05 +0000 (16:14 +0200)]
update auto-generated docs

3 years agosimplify/cleanup previous commit
Dietmar Maurer [Thu, 19 May 2016 04:39:39 +0000 (06:39 +0200)]
simplify/cleanup previous commit

3 years agodescribe begin/end markers and .pve-ignore.
Wolfgang Bumiller [Wed, 18 May 2016 10:56:43 +0000 (12:56 +0200)]
describe begin/end markers and .pve-ignore.

Added the description right between the list of the changes
we make and the paragraph about how they are os specific
which contains the bit about unmanaged containers which I'm
also making a bit more explicit.

3 years agocleanup: limit character per line, fix Thin provisioning section level
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 18 May 2016 15:13:40 +0000 (17:13 +0200)]
cleanup: limit character per line, fix Thin provisioning section level

3 years agoAdd chapter for thin provisioning
Emmanuel Kasper [Wed, 18 May 2016 12:52:24 +0000 (14:52 +0200)]
Add chapter for thin provisioning

3 years agoset destdir
Wolfgang Bumiller [Wed, 18 May 2016 09:19:11 +0000 (11:19 +0200)]
set destdir

The apache pve-docs.conf sites-available entry wasn't
installed to the staging directory but the running system.

3 years agoHA: improve docs regarding updates and fencing
Thomas Lamprecht [Tue, 17 May 2016 12:40:39 +0000 (14:40 +0200)]
HA: improve docs regarding updates and fencing

Signed-off-by: Thomas Lamprecht <t.lamprecht@proxmox.com>
3 years agoupdate generated docs (minor fix)
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 11 May 2016 11:08:46 +0000 (13:08 +0200)]
update generated docs (minor fix)

3 years agobump package release numbers
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 11 May 2016 09:13:14 +0000 (11:13 +0200)]
bump package release numbers

3 years agoupdate generated files
Dietmar Maurer [Wed, 11 May 2016 08:42:47 +0000 (10:42 +0200)]
update generated files

3 years agopct: fix an example
Dietmar Maurer [Sat, 7 May 2016 12:50:26 +0000 (14:50 +0200)]
pct: fix an example